DAW with raid 5. Help Please.

Got a shopping cart of parts that you want opinions on? Get advice from members on your planned or existing system (or upgrade).

Moderators: NeilBlanchard, Ralf Hutter, sthayashi, Lawrence Lee

Stokesperc

DAW with raid 5. Help Please.

Post by Stokesperc » Mon Dec 28, 2009 8:34 am

I'm building a new pc to be used for mastering recording and producing
music in a room that I am building onto my house.

Running mostly Ableton Live with lots of effects, instruments, tracks and vsts.
I will be doing a lot of in house sampling.

I know this may be overkill but I would like to build an i7 930 system with
a raid 5 with 3 HHDs in addition to an ssd for OS and programs.

I have never used raid before but i would like to set up raid 5 because it is an instant backup safegaurd without the loss of performance OF RAID 1

This being a DAW pc it should be quiet.

This being said is this possible in an Antec Solo(I already have this case)
If not possible, is it difficult to build an external hardware Raid 5 array that sits in another room.

Going external would leave only the MOBO, RAM, PSU, GPU(ASUS Passive 5350) CPU and SSD to power and keep cool and quiet inside the case.

Any Suggestions, opinions, thoughts?

Stokesperc

TangoGranny

Hmmmm

Post by TangoGranny » Mon Dec 28, 2009 1:18 pm

Well 1st

I'm a long-time computer tech and recording artist with about 20+ years in studio gear.

My first bit of advice is this: unless you MUST and NEED Raid, of any kind,
DO NOT DO IT. The biggest and 1st mistake new people make with gear is getting stuff they might be able to afford but don't understand very well. Think about it- why Raid? who told you you need it?

Either you're on one of those "gear kicks" and have the money to get in over your head, or you've read just enough to get yourself into trouble- kind of like Karate classes, without a black belt or real street experience.

RAID is far more consumer friendly these days BUT BUT BUT