2U Eclipse Workstation

Got a shopping cart of parts that you want opinions on? Get advice from members on your planned or existing system (or upgrade).

Moderators: NeilBlanchard, Ralf Hutter, sthayashi, Lawrence Lee

gte619n

2U Eclipse Workstation

Post by gte619n » Fri Jul 08, 2011 8:12 am

Hey Guys!

I'm looking to build a new workstation and I was hoping you could help me with some of the components I've selected. I'm a Java programmer (Android and GWT, specifically) and spend most of my day in Eclipse. I have a three monitor setup and do a little bit of Photoshop here and there, but the majority of time is spent rockin' the Java Compiler. I'm really interested in building the fastest development machine I can. I'm looking to fire this badboy into a 2U Case. Noise is important, but I don't need to to be ABSOLUTELY SCARY QUIET.

Here's what I've got so far:
NORCO RPC-230 2U Rackmount Server Case
Seasonic SS-460FL Fanless Power Supply
Intel Core i7 2600K
Scythe Kozuti
G.SKILL Sniper 8GB DDR3 1866
ASUS Maximus IV Gene-Z Z68
Sony Optiarc Slim CD/DVD Burner
Koutech IO-RCM330 USB 3.0 Card Reader
VisionTek 900315 Radeon HD 5450 1GB
OCZ Vertex 3 Series – MAX IOPS 128GB
Nexus SP802512L-03 80mm Case Fan
Startech Slim Optical & 3.5in Mounting Bracket
TP-LINK TL-WN722N Wireless Adapter
Microsoft Windows 7 Professional

I think it's generally looking like a pretty solid build. The only fans would be the heatsink on the processor and the case fans, so I imagine it will be pretty quiet. I am not married to ANY of these components, so if anything is not the best/most reliable/whatever please let me know! I have a couple of questions I was hoping you could help me with:

1. Is that Kozuti enough to cool down the 2600K? I notice it is recommended for 65W TDP, but says it can do i7 if the fan is on.

1a. Would a SHURIKEN Rev.B fit in a 2U case? Would that be a better choice?