Speedfan and GA-P35-DS3R Motherboard

All about them.

Moderators: NeilBlanchard, Ralf Hutter, sthayashi, Lawrence Lee

Jason W

Speedfan and GA-P35-DS3R Motherboard

Post by Jason W » Mon Aug 20, 2007 6:58 pm

Hi all,

I could really use your help here. I am a NOOB at Speedfan, and the help section, while surprisingly good, just isn't getting it done for me. I've tried reading through it, and I understand how it works for the most part, but all this monitoring, overclocking, stability testing, etc. kind of stuff is strange language for me.

I just got my new PC put together, and I have Windows up and running. Now I want to stress test, overclock, and stress test some more.

Here's the gear list:
P182 Case with 3 Nexus fans running at full juice
Corsair HX520 power supply (no buzzing by the way - whoop!)
GA-P35-DS3R motherboard
E6750 CPU with a lapped and fanless Ninja Rev. B (push-pin mounted)
2 x 1 GB G.Skill DDR2 800 RAM (2GBHZ model)
Fanless Gigabyte GeForce 7600GS video card
3 hard drives in lower chamber (WD YS and ABYS models)
Samsung Sata DVD burner (SH-S203B)
Mitsumi combo floppy / USB 2.0 flash card reader)

Before I delve into overclocking and stress testing for the very first time, I figure proper monitoring software is an essential key. I was hoping Speedfan would be the answer, but alas I am not convinced.

First of all, cmthomson warned me that Speedfan wouldn't be able to control the fans with this motherboard... and he's right. But Speedfan also can't report that there are three fans attached to the motherboard (only shows 2) or display their RPMs correctly (shows 675000 RPM or something like that).

While fan speed monitoring and controlling would have been nice, I think I can just use my eyes and ears to make sure the fans are spinning at full bore.