core2duo undervolting tips?

All about them.

Moderators: NeilBlanchard, Ralf Hutter, sthayashi, Lawrence Lee

Conroy

core2duo undervolting tips?

Post by Conroy » Mon Jan 21, 2008 9:38 am

I have been undervolting my dothan laptop using RMClock for several years, and it's been working great.

Since that has been working so well, I am now investigating undervolting my core2duo desktop as well. I read through threads here, and it looks like the process might be more complex. Searching through the net finds lots of guides for undervolting notebooks, but not so much on desktops.

When I use RMClock with my notebook, it displays the voltage at minimal speed (6x), and the voltage at maximal speed (15x). I can then find and set optimal voltages by simply adjusting these 2 voltages and testing at both speeds.

My GA-P35-DS3P bios, however, has different types of settings.. mainly, it just has a single voltage setting for the CPU. Should I be using that, or can RMClock support something similar to what I was doing on the notebook?

Actually, my GA-P35-ds3p also has a bunch of settings i don't completely understand - something called "CPU Intelligent Accelerator" which automatically overclocks, and a "Performance Enhance" with "turbo", "standard", and "extreme" settings. I guess this is for another thread though; I'm probably going to leave this stuff disabled because I don't want to risk the board interfering with voltages, although xbitlabs says that the settings are important for the system performance.

aaa

Post by aaa » Mon Jan 21, 2008 1:15 pm

RMClock should work, just like you'd do with a laptop.

I'd leave the BIOS settings alone. Overclock only if you need to, and I would prefer manually overclocking over the automatic settings.

jessekopelman

Post by jessekopelman » Mon Jan 21, 2008 1:20 pm