Controlling vCore on nForce2 (was limited to barton unlock)

All about them.

Moderators: NeilBlanchard, Ralf Hutter, sthayashi, Lawrence Lee

rubber_boat

Controlling vCore on nForce2 (was limited to barton unlock)

Post by rubber_boat » Mon Jan 12, 2009 1:33 am

Edit: I put the followup at the bottom. No use in starting a new thread.

Hi,

Tried my luck and I admit I am not too good at searching these forums. I am not a software person at all.

Need some help. I don't make any money from running my computer system: I only read websites and basic stuff.

Had a Shuttle AN35 Ultra 400 (NF2 chipset), and a week 43 or so Athlon XP Barton. The Barton was 'super-locked', and probably if you are reading this post and familiar with the forum you will know better than I do about it.

I bought a used [ASUS N7-something] Correction: MSI K7N2 Delta2 fancy MB, and a slightly older AQXCA0310MPMW Athlon XP Barton, which could be multiplier adjusted.

From my humble perspective, there is a lot of confusing information on how to unlock this processor. Including mention of having it run from 5.5 to 12.5 multiplier, or 13 and higher multiplier. Other limitations are mentioned.

I can cut, or alternatively, bridge the pins. Physically doing the work is a hardware issue and not much of a trouble for me. I would simply like to know how to 'un-&%/' the processor from what AMD did to disable useful options. Most of the time to underclock it. I -do not- want to do on-the-fly FSB changes, only multiplier changes and voltage changes. I had some bad corruption problems of my software raid on my Shuttle/Superlocked combination spread out over time I think due to FSB changes.

Now I've a 3ware 9500B for real raid, in the 'new' [ASUS] MSI kit. The Shuttle stuff goes in an assembled system to my mother-in-law to replace her P3-700. A nice boost.