Do PCIe mobos require mandatory PCIe graphics cards to run?

All about them.

Moderators: NeilBlanchard, Ralf Hutter, sthayashi, Lawrence Lee

Post Reply
dragonfruit
Posts: 40
Joined: Sat May 31, 2008 4:47 pm
Location: home and away

Do PCIe mobos require mandatory PCIe graphics cards to run?

Post by dragonfruit » Sat Mar 12, 2011 5:36 am

Do PCI express x16 motherboards require mandatory PCIe graphics card to run?

I am trying to run Celeron D 3.20 GHz on MS-7187 ver. 3.C motherboard ( http://www.uktsupport.co.uk/advent/pc/t9207.htm )
with only PCI graphics card, as I have no PCIe graphics card.

The motherboard is from Medion PC model: PC MT7 MED MT 427G

When I try to turn it on the fan on CPU spins for a second or two and then stops, but when I press the power button again it behaves differently: the fan spins fast then slows down and spins all the time slowly, I can also hear a floppy seek sound, so it seems to be working, but the monitor screen is black - it seems that there is no signal coming out of the PCI graphics card. I tried two of them already.

So what is the problem? Is the CPU or the motherboard faulty or PCI graphics cards or simply PCIe motherboards have to have PCIe graphics card installed in order to run at all?

BTW, does anyone know if this motherboard can support 2TB hard drives? The latest motherboard BIOS update on Medions webpage is ver. 4.03 from 18.07.2006.

Many thanks for your replies and suggestions.

m1st
Posts: 132
Joined: Sun Jan 31, 2010 6:43 pm
Location: US

Re: Do PCIe mobos require mandatory PCIe graphics cards to r

Post by m1st » Sat Mar 12, 2011 7:42 am

It's hard to generalize since different motherboards run differently. Most motherboards will run a PCI graphics card just fine, but you may have to go into the BIOS to enable graphics through PCI. Does the mobo have onboard graphics? Can you get to the BIOS through the onboard graphics?

andyb
Patron of SPCR
Posts: 3307
Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2004 12:00 pm
Location: Essex, England

Re: Do PCIe mobos require mandatory PCIe graphics cards to r

Post by andyb » Sat Mar 12, 2011 10:12 am

My server is running a PCI graphics card made in the late 90's, works fine.


Andy
Main PC, P180, CM Silent Pro 500M, i5 3570k @ 4.2Ghz, 8-GB @ 2,400MHz, 512GB 850 EVO, 500 Extreme II, 2x 2.5" drives, MSI 660Ti Twin Frozr.
Server, under reconstruction, 380W Enermax Pro82+, positive pressure only.

Klusu
Posts: 196
Joined: Thu Jul 24, 2008 10:57 am
Location: Riga

Re: Do PCIe mobos require mandatory PCIe graphics cards to r

Post by Klusu » Sat Mar 12, 2011 12:30 pm

I have MX440 64MB PCI, works in any MB. Newer PCI cards should work also. But very old cards don't (I have 3 - Trident 9440, S3,...). Just a black screen. I would like to know the reason...

andyb
Patron of SPCR
Posts: 3307
Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2004 12:00 pm
Location: Essex, England

Re: Do PCIe mobos require mandatory PCIe graphics cards to r

Post by andyb » Sat Mar 12, 2011 1:00 pm

But very old cards don't (I have 3 - Trident 9440, S3,...). Just a black screen. I would like to know the reason...
Interesting to know as my server has a card of that is either a Trident or an S3, but it is in a now rather old motherboard an ASUS A8R-MVP with a 4x PCI-E RAID-card, with the PCI graphics card in the bottom most slot.

http://www.trustedreviews.com/motherboa ... erboard/p1

I dont know why some work and some dont, it may be as simple as the slot the card is in - remember those horrible old settings that had to be set for things not to conflict with each other and actually function.


Andy
Main PC, P180, CM Silent Pro 500M, i5 3570k @ 4.2Ghz, 8-GB @ 2,400MHz, 512GB 850 EVO, 500 Extreme II, 2x 2.5" drives, MSI 660Ti Twin Frozr.
Server, under reconstruction, 380W Enermax Pro82+, positive pressure only.

Fire-Flare
Posts: 422
Joined: Sun Jun 13, 2010 12:44 pm
Location: Seattle

Re: Do PCIe mobos require mandatory PCIe graphics cards to r

Post by Fire-Flare » Sat Mar 12, 2011 4:39 pm

I've tested a PCI video card in a motherboard made just last year, and it worked.

So generally, yes you can expect a PCI video card to work in any PCI slot assuming it fits in the slot. If it's keyed differently you're out of luck.

But keep the receipt in case it turns out to be one of the ancient ones with special needs.
My build: viewtopic.php?f=14&t=69018

Swiftech MCP35X review: viewtopic.php?f=27&t=65287

Plekto
Posts: 398
Joined: Tue Feb 19, 2008 2:08 pm
Location: Los Angeles

Re: Do PCIe mobos require mandatory PCIe graphics cards to r

Post by Plekto » Sat Mar 12, 2011 5:42 pm

Very old PCI cards actually require 3.0V, IIRC, and most new systems don't put enough voltage ut to handle it.

Post Reply