Automatically logged out !?

Like something? Don't like something? Don't see something? Here's the place to provide feedback about the SilentPCReview.com site. User feedback is very important to us -- we really do read the posts in this forum.

Moderators: NeilBlanchard, Ralf Hutter, sthayashi, Lawrence Lee, Edward Ng

rpsgc
Friend of SPCR
Posts: 1630
Joined: Tue Oct 05, 2004 1:59 am
Location: Portugal

Automatically logged out !?

Post by rpsgc » Fri Dec 30, 2005 3:56 pm

Hi,

Lately I've been having this problem, which only seems to affect SPCR's forum (doesn't happen on any other forum).

I use Opera (8.51) and even though I check the option to "remember me" and have the username/password saved in the Wand, from time to time, when I open my mail notifications and whatnot, I see that I have somehow been logged out! It bewilders me... :?
Fractal Define R4 | Corsair AX750 | MSI Z97 Gaming 5 | Intel Core i7 4770K w/TRUE 120 Rev. C | 16GB G.Skill Sniper DDR3-1866 | Sapphire Nitro+ RX 480 8GB OC | Crucial m4 128GB + Crucial MX100 512GB + WD Blue 1TB + WD Red 4TB | JVC HA-RX900 | Dell U2312HM + BenQ G2400WD | Asus Echelon Mechanical Keyboard | Logitech G400s

feddup
Posts: 67
Joined: Sun May 22, 2005 8:44 am
Location: Kansas City, Missouri

same deal!

Post by feddup » Fri Dec 30, 2005 10:24 pm

I use IE and also have to log in to SPCR every time. It puzzles and irritates me as well. Other forums work fine. I'd appreciatte any wisdom on the matter.

NoizEnvader
Posts: 114
Joined: Fri May 06, 2005 1:44 pm
Location: Cape Town

Post by NoizEnvader » Fri Dec 30, 2005 11:43 pm

Experiencing the same, it's quite annoying yes. :(

rpsgc
Friend of SPCR
Posts: 1630
Joined: Tue Oct 05, 2004 1:59 am
Location: Portugal

Post by rpsgc » Sat Dec 31, 2005 2:37 am

Guess what, I click the link on my mail notification to get to this topic and I had to log in :roll:
Fractal Define R4 | Corsair AX750 | MSI Z97 Gaming 5 | Intel Core i7 4770K w/TRUE 120 Rev. C | 16GB G.Skill Sniper DDR3-1866 | Sapphire Nitro+ RX 480 8GB OC | Crucial m4 128GB + Crucial MX100 512GB + WD Blue 1TB + WD Red 4TB | JVC HA-RX900 | Dell U2312HM + BenQ G2400WD | Asus Echelon Mechanical Keyboard | Logitech G400s

Tibors
Patron of SPCR
Posts: 2674
Joined: Sun Jul 04, 2004 6:07 am
Location: Houten, The Netherlands, Europe

Post by Tibors » Sat Dec 31, 2005 4:32 am

Have you tried removing all your SPCR related cookies and then setting the log in again. This worked for me once when I had a similar problem on another forum.
3) MSI RS480M2-IL | A64 3000+ | Freezer 64 | SS-301HT | 7200.7 PATA 40GB
5) Intel D525MW | Intel 320 40GB | Vertex II 180GB

Bluefront
*Lifetime Patron*
Posts: 5316
Joined: Sat Jan 18, 2003 2:19 pm
Location: St Louis (county) Missouri USA

Post by Bluefront » Sat Dec 31, 2005 5:20 am

Happens to me also.....I had to log in to post this, right after posting a short time ago. It's irritating....
[size=75]"At the core of liberalism is the spoiled child - miserable, as all spoiled children are, unsatisfied, demanding, ill disciplined, despotic, and useless. Liberalism is the philosophy of sniveling brats." - P.J. O'Rourke[/size]

rpsgc
Friend of SPCR
Posts: 1630
Joined: Tue Oct 05, 2004 1:59 am
Location: Portugal

Post by rpsgc » Sat Dec 31, 2005 6:21 am

Tibors wrote:Have you tried removing all your SPCR related cookies and then setting the log in again. This worked for me once when I had a similar problem on another forum.
I did that just now, I'll post later if it worked.
Fractal Define R4 | Corsair AX750 | MSI Z97 Gaming 5 | Intel Core i7 4770K w/TRUE 120 Rev. C | 16GB G.Skill Sniper DDR3-1866 | Sapphire Nitro+ RX 480 8GB OC | Crucial m4 128GB + Crucial MX100 512GB + WD Blue 1TB + WD Red 4TB | JVC HA-RX900 | Dell U2312HM + BenQ G2400WD | Asus Echelon Mechanical Keyboard | Logitech G400s

McBanjo
Posts: 671
Joined: Thu Dec 08, 2005 1:40 pm
Location: Sweden
Contact:

Post by McBanjo » Sat Dec 31, 2005 7:48 am

It's most likely a security feature that is overworking rather than the browser
Probibly it's a cookie issue

rpsgc
Friend of SPCR
Posts: 1630
Joined: Tue Oct 05, 2004 1:59 am
Location: Portugal

Post by rpsgc » Sat Dec 31, 2005 8:14 am

I deleted all SPCR cookies yet I still get this problem... :?
It must be something new 'cause a couple of weeks ago it didn't happen.
Fractal Define R4 | Corsair AX750 | MSI Z97 Gaming 5 | Intel Core i7 4770K w/TRUE 120 Rev. C | 16GB G.Skill Sniper DDR3-1866 | Sapphire Nitro+ RX 480 8GB OC | Crucial m4 128GB + Crucial MX100 512GB + WD Blue 1TB + WD Red 4TB | JVC HA-RX900 | Dell U2312HM + BenQ G2400WD | Asus Echelon Mechanical Keyboard | Logitech G400s

StarfishChris
Posts: 968
Joined: Fri Jan 07, 2005 7:13 pm
Location: Bristol, UK
Contact:

Post by StarfishChris » Sat Dec 31, 2005 8:32 am

In the interest of balance, I've never had a problem...
It's coming back

ultraboy
*Lifetime Patron*
Posts: 547
Joined: Thu Aug 26, 2004 5:02 pm
Location: Bangkok Thailand

Post by ultraboy » Sat Dec 31, 2005 5:31 pm

I've never had this issue too. For the record I'm using Firefox 1.5.

McBanjo
Posts: 671
Joined: Thu Dec 08, 2005 1:40 pm
Location: Sweden
Contact:

Post by McBanjo » Sat Dec 31, 2005 9:02 pm

rpsgc wrote:I deleted all SPCR cookies yet I still get this problem... :?
It must be something new 'cause a couple of weeks ago it didn't happen.
That's not really the problem, the problem is that SPCR can't read them.
My security on IE is put as "Middle" and accept cookies
Not sure that helps tho but it works for me

You can try to put security and lowerst possibly and deactivate firewall and antivirus and anything else and see if that works.
If it works you reactivate one thing at a time and try to find the setting that is causing you the problem.

Don't work to slow since your computer will be wide open during the test

MattHelm
Posts: 41
Joined: Fri Aug 27, 2004 5:38 pm
Location: Chicago, IL

Post by MattHelm » Thu Jan 19, 2006 11:39 am

ultraboy wrote:I've never had this issue too. For the record I'm using Firefox 1.5.
I'm using Firefox 1.5, and I AM having this problem. I tried the delete all cookie thing, but that didn't fix it. Also, when I do login, all the areas say I have no unread messages.
:(



A little later.
OK, I was in the forums, logged in.
1 area already had a new message, and it showed that way.
I quit out of Firefox without reading that area.
Reloaded firefox, and when I came back, I was logged out again.
When I logged in, all forums were marked as read, even the one I KNEW had a new message.

Any help?

rpsgc
Friend of SPCR
Posts: 1630
Joined: Tue Oct 05, 2004 1:59 am
Location: Portugal

Post by rpsgc » Thu Jan 19, 2006 12:33 pm

It still happens to me from time to time... :roll:
Fractal Define R4 | Corsair AX750 | MSI Z97 Gaming 5 | Intel Core i7 4770K w/TRUE 120 Rev. C | 16GB G.Skill Sniper DDR3-1866 | Sapphire Nitro+ RX 480 8GB OC | Crucial m4 128GB + Crucial MX100 512GB + WD Blue 1TB + WD Red 4TB | JVC HA-RX900 | Dell U2312HM + BenQ G2400WD | Asus Echelon Mechanical Keyboard | Logitech G400s

MattHelm
Posts: 41
Joined: Fri Aug 27, 2004 5:38 pm
Location: Chicago, IL

Post by MattHelm » Thu Jan 19, 2006 12:44 pm

Ha, I quit out of Firefox, restarted, deleted my cookies, quit out again, restarted, and now it seems to be working. Will try to remember to try again tomorrow, and see if it still works.

Tibors
Patron of SPCR
Posts: 2674
Joined: Sun Jul 04, 2004 6:07 am
Location: Houten, The Netherlands, Europe

Post by Tibors » Thu Jan 19, 2006 7:51 pm

I only very seldom have this problem. Yesterday I noticed when it occurs for me. If I open the SPCR homepage and then the forum index in another tab, before the "In Forums" sidebar of the home page has finished loading, then I am not logged in.
MattHelm wrote:OK, I was in the forums, logged in.
1 area already had a new message, and it showed that way.
I quit out of Firefox without reading that area.
Reloaded firefox, and when I came back, I was logged out again.
When I logged in, all forums were marked as read, even the one I KNEW had a new message.

Any help?
The messages market "new" are the ones new since you last logged in. Whether by hand or automagically. So the fact that the message was no longer marked as new after you quit and reopened Firefox is actually how the system should work.
3) MSI RS480M2-IL | A64 3000+ | Freezer 64 | SS-301HT | 7200.7 PATA 40GB
5) Intel D525MW | Intel 320 40GB | Vertex II 180GB

nutball
*Lifetime Patron*
Posts: 1304
Joined: Thu Apr 10, 2003 7:16 am
Location: en.gb.uk

Post by nutball » Fri Jan 20, 2006 2:47 am

I have this problem with FF 1.5 on Windows and Linux, but not on Mac (also FF 1.5). *shrugs*

StarfishChris
Posts: 968
Joined: Fri Jan 07, 2005 7:13 pm
Location: Bristol, UK
Contact:

Post by StarfishChris » Fri Jan 20, 2006 5:06 am

Tibors wrote:I only very seldom have this problem. Yesterday I noticed when it occurs for me. If I open the SPCR homepage and then the forum index in another tab, before the "In Forums" sidebar of the home page has finished loading, then I am not logged in.
I logged myself out too, by loading the forum index then going to another page before it finishes loading (a middle-click on a Marble Mouse is clicking both buttons together :?). I repeated it today and the same thing happened. It seems that if the page loading gets interrupted you log out.
It's coming back

wundi
Posts: 111
Joined: Wed Jun 01, 2005 2:49 pm
Location: EU

Post by wundi » Fri Jan 20, 2006 5:07 am

This happens to me as well (Firefox 1.5). The log-outs seem to happen randomly: I don't have to log in every time I come to the forum, but quite often. It didn't happen some time back (December?) but I've done a new system install quite recently, and this problem may have occurred only after that, I haven't paid enough attention to say for sure.

Just a thought -- could it be a firewall/antivirus related problem? Maybe the SPCR cookies seem suspicious for some odd reason? I'm using Avast! antivirus and Kerio Personal Firewall and I've had no problems with either before.

Edit:
Disregard that! Tibors and StarfishChris figured it out already. I just tested it a dozen times and it really seems to work that way. Cheers guys! :)
One question remains: Is it supposed to work that way or is it broken?

rpsgc
Friend of SPCR
Posts: 1630
Joined: Tue Oct 05, 2004 1:59 am
Location: Portugal

Post by rpsgc » Fri Jan 20, 2006 9:36 am

After about a week or so of problem-free browsing it has returned...
Fractal Define R4 | Corsair AX750 | MSI Z97 Gaming 5 | Intel Core i7 4770K w/TRUE 120 Rev. C | 16GB G.Skill Sniper DDR3-1866 | Sapphire Nitro+ RX 480 8GB OC | Crucial m4 128GB + Crucial MX100 512GB + WD Blue 1TB + WD Red 4TB | JVC HA-RX900 | Dell U2312HM + BenQ G2400WD | Asus Echelon Mechanical Keyboard | Logitech G400s

~El~Jefe~
Friend of SPCR
Posts: 2887
Joined: Mon Feb 28, 2005 4:21 pm
Location: New York City zzzz
Contact:

Post by ~El~Jefe~ » Sun Jan 22, 2006 11:10 am

er yeah, cleaned cache and bam did it again.

:(

Yeah, seems to be a problem with the SITE.

anyone considering how to fix it? never on another forum of any kind does this happen.

anandtech i stay logged into for months, same with diabloii.net. hm.

not saying this place sux or anything, just wondering if it CAN be fixed.

wundi
Posts: 111
Joined: Wed Jun 01, 2005 2:49 pm
Location: EU

Post by wundi » Mon Jan 23, 2006 7:38 am

El Jefe, did you read through this thread? Particularly the 5 previous posts?

You get logged out if you click on the Forum link on the SPCR home page before the "In Forums" sidebar has finished loading, or if you otherwise interrupt the loading of the forum.

nici
Posts: 3011
Joined: Thu Dec 16, 2004 8:49 am
Location: Suomi Finland Perkele

Post by nici » Mon Jan 23, 2006 7:49 am

I just fell asleep with SPCR forums open, and when i woke up i was logged out.. :lol:
wundi wrote:
You get logged out if you click on the Forum link on the SPCR home page before the "In Forums" sidebar has finished loading, or if you otherwise interrupt the loading of the forum.
I hate that, however i get logged in but all posts appear to be read so clicking "view posts since last visit" comes up with nothing and its a pain in the arse to browse the forums and try to find the new posts.. i always use "view posts since last visit" and "view your posts" to browse the forums, and occasionally check if i´ve missed something.

I solved this by just saving my password and username, i have to click two more times when going to the forums but its better than logging in automatically and have all the damn posts marked as read.. Besides clicking two more times is faster than waiting for the whole frontpage to load.

rpsgc
Friend of SPCR
Posts: 1630
Joined: Tue Oct 05, 2004 1:59 am
Location: Portugal

Post by rpsgc » Mon Jan 23, 2006 9:02 am

wundi wrote:You get logged out if you click on the Forum link on the SPCR home page before the "In Forums" sidebar has finished loading, or if you otherwise interrupt the loading of the forum.
I for one only use the e-mail notifications' links and it happens too, so...
Fractal Define R4 | Corsair AX750 | MSI Z97 Gaming 5 | Intel Core i7 4770K w/TRUE 120 Rev. C | 16GB G.Skill Sniper DDR3-1866 | Sapphire Nitro+ RX 480 8GB OC | Crucial m4 128GB + Crucial MX100 512GB + WD Blue 1TB + WD Red 4TB | JVC HA-RX900 | Dell U2312HM + BenQ G2400WD | Asus Echelon Mechanical Keyboard | Logitech G400s

wundi
Posts: 111
Joined: Wed Jun 01, 2005 2:49 pm
Location: EU

Post by wundi » Mon Jan 23, 2006 2:52 pm

Alright. Personally, I haven't had a single log-out after I started paying attention to letting the forum fully load before messing around, but I guess everyone uses the forum their own way. So it seems there's a lot of different sitations where the log-out occurs -- maybe it'd be a good start of remedying the problem by making a list of them?

arrikhan
Posts: 79
Joined: Thu Dec 29, 2005 3:51 am
Location: Australia

Post by arrikhan » Wed Jan 25, 2006 3:17 pm

Having the same problem. I thought it was a timing thing (ie: cookie times out after so many hours) but it ALWAYS happens when I click on the links from email notifications.

I figure the website is losing its access to the cookie as the cookie is there..

The other problem is the website remembers you when you view the forums, just befoe login, and when you login, it last remembers you when you viewed the site before login.

Has the Webmaster been engaged in this discussion ? :roll:

I think phpBB is not tracking properly.


Arrikhan

rpsgc
Friend of SPCR
Posts: 1630
Joined: Tue Oct 05, 2004 1:59 am
Location: Portugal

Post by rpsgc » Wed Jan 25, 2006 3:22 pm

MikeC hasn't posted here yet, don't know why though... He probably could shed some light into this whole situation.
Fractal Define R4 | Corsair AX750 | MSI Z97 Gaming 5 | Intel Core i7 4770K w/TRUE 120 Rev. C | 16GB G.Skill Sniper DDR3-1866 | Sapphire Nitro+ RX 480 8GB OC | Crucial m4 128GB + Crucial MX100 512GB + WD Blue 1TB + WD Red 4TB | JVC HA-RX900 | Dell U2312HM + BenQ G2400WD | Asus Echelon Mechanical Keyboard | Logitech G400s

Tibors
Patron of SPCR
Posts: 2674
Joined: Sun Jul 04, 2004 6:07 am
Location: Houten, The Netherlands, Europe

Post by Tibors » Thu Jan 26, 2006 6:03 am

rpsgc wrote:MikeC hasn't posted here yet, don't know why though... He probably could shed some light into this whole situation.
Probably not. One or two other people are doing the technical admin stuff. I doubt MikeC knows much about the inner workings of phpBB.
3) MSI RS480M2-IL | A64 3000+ | Freezer 64 | SS-301HT | 7200.7 PATA 40GB
5) Intel D525MW | Intel 320 40GB | Vertex II 180GB

rpsgc
Friend of SPCR
Posts: 1630
Joined: Tue Oct 05, 2004 1:59 am
Location: Portugal

Post by rpsgc » Thu Jan 26, 2006 9:41 am

Tibors wrote:Probably not. One or two other people are doing the technical admin stuff. I doubt MikeC knows much about the inner workings of phpBB.
I thought he was :|
Fractal Define R4 | Corsair AX750 | MSI Z97 Gaming 5 | Intel Core i7 4770K w/TRUE 120 Rev. C | 16GB G.Skill Sniper DDR3-1866 | Sapphire Nitro+ RX 480 8GB OC | Crucial m4 128GB + Crucial MX100 512GB + WD Blue 1TB + WD Red 4TB | JVC HA-RX900 | Dell U2312HM + BenQ G2400WD | Asus Echelon Mechanical Keyboard | Logitech G400s

teejay
Patron of SPCR
Posts: 749
Joined: Mon Aug 02, 2004 2:23 am
Location: The Netherlands

Post by teejay » Thu Jan 26, 2006 9:57 am

Nope. I think Alistair is (or was, anyway).
Tibors wrote:If I open the SPCR homepage and then the forum index in another tab, before the "In Forums" sidebar of the home page has finished loading, then I am not logged in.
Same here; thanks, I hate it when all messages get marked "read" :)
[size=75]I: E5200 OC, Ninja II, Gigabyte P45, ATi HD4850 w/ S1, Raptor + Samsung disks in Quiet Drive, Enermax Modu82+ 425W, Lian Li V1000, 2x Nexus 120 PWM
II: A64 3000+, Ninja, DFI nForce3, headless, Samsung disks suspended, Enermax Pro82+ 385W, Antec 3000B padded & dampened, 2x Nexus 120 B&W[/size]

Post Reply