Socket A CPU top-down heatsink

Got a hot deal to share, info about a vendor, gear to sell, or a question about where to buy?

Moderators: NeilBlanchard, Ralf Hutter, sthayashi, Lawrence Lee

Post Reply
trodas
Posts: 509
Joined: Sun Dec 14, 2003 6:21 am
Location: Czech republic
Contact:

Socket A CPU top-down heatsink

Post by trodas » Mon Apr 13, 2015 9:55 am

For old testing/download PC I would like quiet cooler, something like Thermalright SI-97A:

Image

http://www.hartware.de/media/reviews/42 ... atpipe.jpg
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.a ... 6835109124

The cooler must have the top-down airflow, so it cool the hot mosfets and caps near the CPU (they are heated up pretty much) and also it should have at least 92mm fan (for replacement to quiet Noiseblocker fan).

The most problematic part is, that the Soltek SL-KT600-R mainboard have NO HOLES near that CPU socket, so only heatsinks that attach to the ZIF socket are usable. The Zalman CNPS 7000Cu is not usable as well, as many other CPU heatsinks that require these nice installation holes... damn.

So, suggestions? And no, ebay search turned out as no results for Thermalright SI-97A :? :cry:
"It is dangerous to be right in matters on which the established authorities are wrong." - Voltaire
"I believe that all the people who stand to profit by a war and who help provoke it should be shot on the first day it starts..." - Hemingway

Pappnaas
Posts: 726
Joined: Mon May 16, 2011 11:23 am
Location: Germany

Re: Socket A CPU top-down heatsink

Post by Pappnaas » Mon Apr 13, 2015 9:46 pm

Socket A or 462 is pretty outdated.

http://geizhals.de/?cat=cpucooler&xf=817_462#xf_top

This is a list of available coolers in germany, from this both Arctic Cooling seem to be the least annoying. Back then we swapped the fans on those for the trusty YateLoon 120 with zip-tie-fu.

trodas
Posts: 509
Joined: Sun Dec 14, 2003 6:21 am
Location: Czech republic
Contact:

Re: Socket A CPU top-down heatsink

Post by trodas » Tue Apr 14, 2015 12:13 pm

Yes, it is old, but I like old stuff.

However you helped me more that anyone else yet! In the list, I noticed the Gigabite cooler:
Gigabyte G-Power Pro (GH-PDU21-MF)

Now it does provide the mosfet cooling (hoooooray!) and the Pro version have Socket A (462) support! Hoooray. I want it. Sadly I find they selling only the Lite versions in Czech shops, so I think I have to look elsewhere.

The "Pro" version definitively support K7 (Socket A/Socket 462 - whatever you can call it)
http://www.frostytech.com/articleview.c ... cleID=1904

IMHO the Lite vesion just does not have the clip's, but getting anyone that do have the K7 clip for Gigabyte G-Power cooler might be quite a challenge, but when I find that guy, I can buy the lite version of the cooler...
"It is dangerous to be right in matters on which the established authorities are wrong." - Voltaire
"I believe that all the people who stand to profit by a war and who help provoke it should be shot on the first day it starts..." - Hemingway

edh
Posts: 1617
Joined: Mon Mar 17, 2008 1:49 pm
Location: UK

Re: Socket A CPU top-down heatsink

Post by edh » Wed Apr 15, 2015 3:21 am

You could always mod a newer heatsink to suit. I previously put a Silverstone NT-06 on an Athlon 2000+ just by coming up with a new mounting to fit the different mounting holes on Socket A:
viewtopic.php?f=14&t=65771

It works really effectively in that system and was just done with leftover parts. I wouldn't spend substantial money on such old hardware though - that same Athlon XP2000+ has just been scrapped as it hadn't been used for 2 years. The modded NT-06 lives on with an old Sempron.

Hope this gives some inspiration.
Raijintek Metis: i5-6400, Scythe Ninja 4, Asus Z170i Pro Gaming, 8Gb RAM, GTX 950, Crucial 250Gb M.2, Seasonic X-400

trodas
Posts: 509
Joined: Sun Dec 14, 2003 6:21 am
Location: Czech republic
Contact:

Re: Socket A CPU top-down heatsink

Post by trodas » Wed Apr 15, 2015 4:15 am

Yep, that is easy, when the heatsink has exchangable parts AND you have the holes near socket. Then it is a piece of cake.

I have, hoever, different situation. But it looks like that Gigabyte G-Power BL (GH-PDU21-SC) is the answer:

Image
http://www.technic3d.com/reviews/kuehle ... %20483.jpg
http://insanetek.com/reviews/cooling/Gi ... G_3944.JPG
See the K7? That's my favorite now :)

Also: http://www.bit-tech.net/hardware/2005/0 ... sinkTrio/1
"Also in the box you'll find the necessary bits to allow you to install the heatsink on to a Pentium 4 (socket T/478) or AMD's older socket A."

Not to mention there: http://www.lckdanny.com/wordpress/?p=222
Second picture show the K7 bracket... I would say this is solved case.
"It is dangerous to be right in matters on which the established authorities are wrong." - Voltaire
"I believe that all the people who stand to profit by a war and who help provoke it should be shot on the first day it starts..." - Hemingway

Gunbuster
Posts: 98
Joined: Sat Jun 21, 2003 12:27 am
Location: Scotland, UK

Re: Socket A CPU top-down heatsink

Post by Gunbuster » Wed Apr 15, 2015 4:28 am

Haha! thats probably the CPU I had when I first joined.

I had an Athlon 750, the a few XPs 1600+ and 2000+ (I think).

Sad thing is I threw out a load of old heatsinks last month. Big copper cube for socket A, think it was a Thermalright. Shame about the timing, though that Gigabyte is probably better.

trodas
Posts: 509
Joined: Sun Dec 14, 2003 6:21 am
Location: Czech republic
Contact:

Re: Socket A CPU top-down heatsink

Post by trodas » Wed Apr 15, 2015 6:29 am

The machine in question is now running with Duron 1600 :mrgreen: Still it is fact enought for everything I need it to do (scanning, printing, downloading). The stability does bug me, tough...

As far as the thrown-out heatsinks goes, well, that is sad, but shipping to Europe will cost arm and leg too, not to mention that I need not a cooper "cube", but something taller, that span over the mosfets area to provide decent cooling for them.

I plan to fix the stability with replacing the mosfets (all caps are replaced and added even hi quality 2.5$ tantal-polymer SMD ones under the CPU, 3x!, but no help) for CPU Vcore, but I need also better cooling and to cool the mosfets... :wink:
And when this go well, then I might upgrade it the CPU to AXP-M, got one that does 2300MHz with 1,575Vcore, so... that should be good :) Plus some faster HDD, maybe. Just for the fun. Does WinXP SP1.0a handle 1T HDD anyway? :)))))


PS: oh, looks like XP SP1 has no problemo with 48bit LBA:
http://www.tomshardware.co.uk/forum/139 ... size-limit
The original release of XP did have a 137GB limit, but SP1 cured that. Also, the MB may have a 137GB limit; some MBs can be cured with a BIOS upgrade.
So if I cure the computer, then it get nice upgrade :)
"It is dangerous to be right in matters on which the established authorities are wrong." - Voltaire
"I believe that all the people who stand to profit by a war and who help provoke it should be shot on the first day it starts..." - Hemingway

trodas
Posts: 509
Joined: Sun Dec 14, 2003 6:21 am
Location: Czech republic
Contact:

Re: Socket A CPU top-down heatsink

Post by trodas » Thu Apr 16, 2015 5:13 am

- an open letter from me to Gogabyte support -
Hello, Gigabyte.

First let me complain, that the Gigabyte Password won't work. Even that I register my email trodas@seznam.cz, it ALWAYS say that "Login failed." So please, for the love of God, someone FIX THIS, or provide a simple support email, THANKS!

Second - I'm interesed to purchase the G-Power BL Gigabyte cooler (GH-PDU21-SC) for my old System A(K7) machine. I need something that is top-down to cool the mosfets, so this G-Power BL (GH-PDU21-SC) looks like a VERY good solution.

However in every reviews is this cooler shown to be Socket A compatible (K7 All Types):
http://www.technic3d.com/reviews/kuehle ... %20483.jpg
http://www.techbuy.com.au/products/5029 ... _Light.asp
http://www.allstarshop.com/shop/product.asp?pid=11606
http://insanetek.com/reviews/cooling/Gi ... G_3944.JPG

But the Czech seller have this G-Power BL type without K7 compatibility:
http://s1.postimg.org/u8qdaxcwv/Gigabyt ... ersion.jpg

See? No K7 bracket todays.

But even a own Gigabyte manual show the K7 compatibility:
http://www.manualslib.com/manual/388592 ... 21-Sc.html

So are the customers tricked into belief, that they can use the cooler for K7 by false advertising, or do Gigabyte provide this K7 bracket separately for the buyers or something like that, like Noctua do?

Because if Gigabyte does not changed the cooler type (GH-PDU21-SC), then it let people to believe that this cooler IS indeed K7 compatible, while it is novadays not.
This is calling for lawsuit.

So I asking politely and nicely first - do Gigabyte provide the K7 bracket(s) - need two - for the G-Power BL (GH-PDU21-SC) cooler and what I need to do to obtain them?

Thanks for letting me know.

Pavel

...


To put long story short - todays sold versions of the Gigabyte G-Power BL (GH-PDU21-SC) cooler are w/o the K7 compatibility, witch led me to search for user, that could sell/give me the spare K7 bracket for this Gigabyte G-Power BL (GH-PDU21-SC) cooler:
Image

Anyone out there, or it is time to set a new thread...
"It is dangerous to be right in matters on which the established authorities are wrong." - Voltaire
"I believe that all the people who stand to profit by a war and who help provoke it should be shot on the first day it starts..." - Hemingway

Post Reply