Have I done something dangerous? (PSU mod)

PSUs: The source of DC power for all components in the PC & often a big noise source.

Moderators: NeilBlanchard, Ralf Hutter, sthayashi, Lawrence Lee, Devonavar

linden_arden

Have I done something dangerous? (PSU mod)

Post by linden_arden » Tue Mar 01, 2005 9:33 am

Ok, I am a quiet computing newb and recently modified my PSU. I didn't do much research before hand and things seem to be working ok for now, but I thought I would post here to make sure I am not going to set my house on fire or something.

Took the stock PSU from a used Emachine I bought. Opened up the PSU and cut the 80mm fan out (cut the two wires connected to the PCB in the PSU). I connected the original fan wires of the PCB and wired them to a male 3 pin fan connector. This connector goes into a Zalman fanmate control (which actually resides outside of the PSU case). I put a new 80mm fan in the PSU and connected it to the Fanmate. Thus, a speed controlled PSU fan.

Like I said, the thing runs, but have I done something dangerous? I know zip about eletrical wiring, etc, so maybe I have. Hopefully some smart folks can let me know.

sthayashi
*Lifetime Patron*

Post by sthayashi » Tue Mar 01, 2005 9:49 am

That's a tough call.

When you modify an unknown power supply, you're taking a risk in my opinion, particularly if it was running rather warm before.

From your description of what you've done, it sounds like the normal electrical aspects are more or less safe, assuming there is no exposed wiring in the PSU. It doesn't take much to short something.

But you won't cause a fire from your direct work with fan modding. You're looking at 12V at relatively low currents there. It's the indirect effects of modding your PSU that I would be far more worried about.

tay
Friend of SPCR

Post by tay » Tue Mar 01, 2005 10:21 am