Antec NeoHE "High-Efficiency"

PSUs: The source of DC power for all components in the PC & often a big noise source.

Moderators: NeilBlanchard, Ralf Hutter, sthayashi, Lawrence Lee, Devonavar

GeezerMan
Posts: 12
Joined: Wed Mar 29, 2006 6:55 pm
Location: Texas

Post by GeezerMan » Fri Mar 31, 2006 10:47 pm

I see some mention of the A4 version of the Neo 430 watt. Has Antec officially announced they have one? I was using the truepower 2.0 550 watt power supply, isn't that a pretty good one?

frankgehry
Posts: 1424
Joined: Sun Dec 12, 2004 5:00 am
Location: New York, NY

Post by frankgehry » Fri Mar 31, 2006 11:17 pm

The truepower is good, but the neo he is quieter, more efficient, and has modular cables. Check out the reviews - they've both been tested here (tp 2.0 430w). Based on what I remember of the tests, I'd take a chance on the A4 rev., but if you're happy with the truepower, go with it.
[size=75]
[color=#3366ff]e8400, Corsair XMS2-5400, Asus 8400GS, Gigabyte EP45-UD3R, Chenbro SR209/Nexus 120, T-Balancer, Enhance ENP-5150GH 500W, Seagate 7200.7 160MB [/color][/size][size=75][color=#cc0033](Retired: XP-120, FSP530-60GNA, Antec SP2.0 500W, Antec SLK3000B)[/color][/size]

GeezerMan
Posts: 12
Joined: Wed Mar 29, 2006 6:55 pm
Location: Texas

Post by GeezerMan » Sat Apr 01, 2006 5:21 am

It is quiet, and I do like the modular cables. So Antec has officially announced an A4 version?
Thanks

_sweborn_
Posts: 3
Joined: Mon Apr 03, 2006 12:03 am

New P150 from November 2005?

Post by _sweborn_ » Mon Apr 03, 2006 12:08 am

Bought a P150 last week. When I opened it during the weekend I saw a mark "2005-11-XX" on the chassi and no revision note on the serial # sticker on the PSU.

So, I got an old one and will likely end up with problems when the rest of the components arrives?

Ralf Hutter
SPCR Reviewer
Posts: 8636
Joined: Sat Nov 23, 2002 6:33 am
Location: Sunny SoCal

Re: New P150 from November 2005?

Post by Ralf Hutter » Mon Apr 03, 2006 6:30 am

_sweborn_ wrote:
So, I got an old one and will likely end up with problems when the rest of the components arrives?
There's absolutely no way to tell until you assemble your components and run it.
Main Box: Intel i3-3225, Intel DH77EB, 16GB Corsair RAM, 256GB Samsung 830, SS360GP PSU, CM PS07 case.
Music Server: Intel DH77EB + i3-3220, 2xSamsung 2TB F4, Pico PSU, Fractal Define Mini, 2xScythe Fans @250 rpm.

Dutch2
Posts: 78
Joined: Wed Aug 20, 2003 9:16 am
Location: NC, USA
Contact:

Post by Dutch2 » Mon Apr 03, 2006 6:55 am

I also bought a P150 a few days ago. The serial number on the power supply is 0511... and the warranty sticker is broken.

I've had no issues with it, maybe due to the amount of hardware I have attached.

ABIT AT8, AMD x2 3800+, Big Typhoon, 3x Samsung SP2504C, XFX 7600GS, TriCool 120mm & Nexus 92mm fans.

D2.
Tired of typing? Try [url=http://www.wavget.com/typeitin.html]TypeItIn[/url].
[size=75]ABIT AT8|AMD X2 3800+|2GB G.Skill DDR500|ANTEC P150|Neo HE 430|Big Typhoon|Jesus Loves [i]You[/i]|XFX 7600GS|3x Samsung SP2504C|Nexus 92mm intake|TriCool exhaust|Acousti Fan Mounts|Dual Dell 2001FP|Klipsch 2.1|Big Smile[/size]

warriorpoet
Posts: 323
Joined: Wed Jul 20, 2005 10:56 am
Location: USA

Post by warriorpoet » Mon Apr 03, 2006 9:12 am

Add the Asus A8R32-MVP to the list of motherboards incompatible with a Rev.1 Antec NeoHE 500

System Specs:

Case: Antec P180
PSU: Antec NeoHE 500 (Soon to be replaced by a 620w Enermax Liberty. You'll see why 620w in a second)
Mobo: Asus A8R32-MVP
CPU: Opteron 170 @2.6 GHz
RAM: 2Gb Patriot PC3200 @ 431MHz 3-3-3-6
Video: Sapphire x1900xtx (adding CF card soon)
HDD: Samsung P120 160Gb
Optical: NEC 3540A, Memorex 48Maxx
Additional: Creative X-Fi Xtreme Music, 56k modem
Fans: 2x Med. Scythe S-Flex, 1x Nexus Real Silent

Water cooled and really quiet, although I'll probably replace the Liberty fan with an S-Flex.
ATCS840/ Seasonic X-750/ 2500k 4.4 GHz (Koolance CPU-370)/ Gigabyte z68xp-ud4/ eVGA 570 865,1730,1950 (Koolance VID-580)/ 8Gb G.Skill DDR3 1866/ Corsair Force 3 120Gb, Samsung 470 128 Gb, Scorpio Black 750 2.5" (Quiet Drive)/ EK DCP-2.2 (res., gel-stuff)/ XSPC RX360, Swiftech MCR220QP/ 3 Scythe GT ~300-550RPM, 3 NB Multi-frame ~400-600RPM, 3 230mm 300RPM-> Lamptron FC-4/ Akasa AcoustiPack

allenlux
Posts: 39
Joined: Sun Dec 25, 2005 4:56 am
Location: Bofferdange, Luxembourg
Contact:

Post by allenlux » Mon Apr 03, 2006 11:53 am

Today, 3 April, I finally received a replacement NeoHE 430 - about a week after posting off the old one with its RMA number to Rotterdam (and just over 4 months from when I entered my first RMA request ticket on the Antec site).

I plugged it in to the same setup which lately caused problems (ECS 760GX-M motherboard, AMD 3100+, etc) and so far it's working.

The strange thing is that the new PSU I received - which came in a full retail package - was labelled not A2, A3 or A4, but A2.2:

Image

Hellspawn
Posts: 373
Joined: Sun Feb 16, 2003 3:37 pm
Location: S. Illinois

Post by Hellspawn » Mon Apr 03, 2006 12:13 pm

TomZ wrote:
frankgehry wrote:In fact, if you open any neo he with a broken or mangled warranty sticker, you should be able to see a hacked resistor applied to the 12v line.
I don't think there is a correlation between a broken sticker and a fixed NeoHE. The one I received yesterday does not have the indicators on the bar code label that tell you it is fixed, however, it still had a broken warranty sticker.

I also find it surprising that many PSU manufacturers routinely add dummy loads. I am surprised that wasting 5-10W of efficiency and adding the same amount of internal heat in the PSU is the most effective way to solve that problem. Seems like more of a hack to me.
Absolutely no connection whatsoever to the mangled sticker and a fixed neo.. I received one of the first if not the first 150's from newegg and it came with a mangled sticker.. we are talking last FALL. I think every neo has a mangled/broken sticker. In my case(s) it was not a load issue that kept them from working... I tried barebones setup, fully loaded, you name it.
Silverstone FT02 w/ Seasonic X750 Gold / WD 1TB Black /12gb Corsair Dominator DDR3 1600 / Asus P6X58D Premium / Intel Core i7 975 Extreme / XFX HD5870 / Pioneer BD-205 Blu-Ray Burner / Tuniq Tower 120 Extreme / Gateway FHD2400 24" LCD

GeezerMan
Posts: 12
Joined: Wed Mar 29, 2006 6:55 pm
Location: Texas

Post by GeezerMan » Mon Apr 03, 2006 12:29 pm

So, is there a A4 version of the Neo 430 watt power supply?

Goldmember
Posts: 220
Joined: Wed Mar 15, 2006 10:16 am
Location: U.S.A.

Post by Goldmember » Mon Apr 03, 2006 1:02 pm

Geezerman,

Yes there is a Revision A4 but Antec has not announced it nor will they. AFAIK, they won't even change the outside of the NeoHE box. They will simply slip it into the distribution channels and let their customers play the lottery. :x

Goldmember
Posts: 220
Joined: Wed Mar 15, 2006 10:16 am
Location: U.S.A.

Post by Goldmember » Mon Apr 03, 2006 1:09 pm

allenlux wrote:The strange thing is that the new PSU I received - which came in a full retail package - was labelled not A2, A3 or A4, but A2.2:
allenlux,
Thanks for the info and the picture. If this wasn't so funny I would cry. Antec says they started shipping A3s in 0512, yet you have an A2.2 from 0602. Unfreakingbelievable. My only theory is that "newbuilds" receive the A3 or A4 designation while "refurbs or rebuilds" get the A2.1 or 2.2 designation. I guess as long as it works we should be happy but my patience with Antec is running out fast.

GeezerMan
Posts: 12
Joined: Wed Mar 29, 2006 6:55 pm
Location: Texas

Post by GeezerMan » Mon Apr 03, 2006 5:56 pm

I just had another shutdown with my PC, was working at idle at the time. RMA here I come,,,and it's a A3 model too, made Dec 2005
Last edited by GeezerMan on Mon Apr 03, 2006 7:53 pm, edited 1 time in total.

frankgehry
Posts: 1424
Joined: Sun Dec 12, 2004 5:00 am
Location: New York, NY

Post by frankgehry » Mon Apr 03, 2006 7:26 pm

Has anyone specifically asked antec for an A4 rev? And what was their reply? Has antec been paying shipping? TIA
[size=75]
[color=#3366ff]e8400, Corsair XMS2-5400, Asus 8400GS, Gigabyte EP45-UD3R, Chenbro SR209/Nexus 120, T-Balancer, Enhance ENP-5150GH 500W, Seagate 7200.7 160MB [/color][/size][size=75][color=#cc0033](Retired: XP-120, FSP530-60GNA, Antec SP2.0 500W, Antec SLK3000B)[/color][/size]

jaganath
Posts: 5085
Joined: Tue Sep 20, 2005 6:55 am
Location: UK

Post by jaganath » Tue Apr 04, 2006 1:01 am

Today, 3 April, I finally received a replacement NeoHE 430 - about a week after posting off the old one with its RMA number to Rotterdam (and just over 4 months from when I entered my first RMA request ticket on the Antec site).
I have to say, you guys must have the patience of saints. There is no way I could tolerate having to wait 4 months (!!!) to get a fixed PSU. That thing would be in the dustbin quicker than you can say "Defective PSU engineering".

allenlux
Posts: 39
Joined: Sun Dec 25, 2005 4:56 am
Location: Bofferdange, Luxembourg
Contact:

Post by allenlux » Tue Apr 04, 2006 12:14 pm

I have to say, you guys must have the patience of saints. There is no way I could tolerate having to wait 4 months (!!!) to get a fixed PSU. That thing would be in the dustbin quicker than you can say "Defective PSU engineering".
I have quite a collection of computers in various stages of construction and deconstruction, and a generous stock of PSUs, so nothing was exactly held up by not having a working NeoHE. It was a minor irritation, no more.
My only theory is that "newbuilds" receive the A3 or A4 designation while "refurbs or rebuilds" get the A2.1 or 2.2 designation.
I had a good look at the packaging. There's no sign that it was anything other than a full retail package.

The good news is that so far my new "A2.2" revision NeoHE is working fine.

jaganath
Posts: 5085
Joined: Tue Sep 20, 2005 6:55 am
Location: UK

Post by jaganath » Tue Apr 04, 2006 1:05 pm

I have quite a collection of computers in various stages of construction and deconstruction, and a generous stock of PSUs, so nothing was exactly held up by not having a working NeoHE. It was a minor irritation, no more.
For someone with only one home (essential) computer I suspect it would have been a very major irritation indeed. Not everyone has half the stock of Newegg sitting in their back room.

_sweborn_
Posts: 3
Joined: Mon Apr 03, 2006 12:03 am

Post by _sweborn_ » Wed Apr 05, 2006 12:51 am

I asked Antec support (Europe) if I can identify my PSU as properly functioning or a potential trouble maker.

The response (after a second try) was:

"The serial number should start with 0512 or higher."

I haven't read anything about this before; is it something they made up to get rid of me or something of interest?

GeezerMan
Posts: 12
Joined: Wed Mar 29, 2006 6:55 pm
Location: Texas

Post by GeezerMan » Wed Apr 05, 2006 6:03 am

My Neo HE430 serial number starts with S0512, it's a A3, and it's not a good one, at least it's not good working with a Asus A8N-E.
I laughed yesterday when my PC shut down right in the middle of doing my RMA paperwork to Antec....by he way, the head of tech support in California told me there is no A4 version. That could be their policy to say that.

frankgehry
Posts: 1424
Joined: Sun Dec 12, 2004 5:00 am
Location: New York, NY

Post by frankgehry » Wed Apr 05, 2006 8:46 am

That's interesting as spcr claims to have received A4 revs.
[size=75]
[color=#3366ff]e8400, Corsair XMS2-5400, Asus 8400GS, Gigabyte EP45-UD3R, Chenbro SR209/Nexus 120, T-Balancer, Enhance ENP-5150GH 500W, Seagate 7200.7 160MB [/color][/size][size=75][color=#cc0033](Retired: XP-120, FSP530-60GNA, Antec SP2.0 500W, Antec SLK3000B)[/color][/size]

Goldmember
Posts: 220
Joined: Wed Mar 15, 2006 10:16 am
Location: U.S.A.

Post by Goldmember » Wed Apr 05, 2006 1:54 pm

GeezerMan wrote:....by he way, the head of tech support in California told me there is no A4 version. That could be their policy to say that.
LOL, I guess they want to keep it a secret. :) You sure you don't want to wait for the A200 version? I hear it's the bomb. :wink:

GeezerMan
Posts: 12
Joined: Wed Mar 29, 2006 6:55 pm
Location: Texas

Post by GeezerMan » Wed Apr 05, 2006 2:06 pm

Well, I had good luck in the past with Antec. I'll just sell the Neo, when I get it, and go back to the Truepower 2.0 supply

notareal
Posts: 67
Joined: Mon Jul 11, 2005 9:03 am
Location: Finland

Post by notareal » Fri Apr 07, 2006 3:42 am

_sweborn_ wrote:I asked Antec support (Europe) if I can identify my PSU as properly functioning or a potential trouble maker.

The response (after a second try) was:

"The serial number should start with 0512 or higher."

I haven't read anything about this before; is it something they made up to get rid of me or something of interest?
I have a s/n starting 0512 (A3-rev) NeoHE 430 that have some load issues, it needs much more than stated 1A @ +12V line to power on (if I have calculated right the power on load is more that 3A, as my dummy load uses 1.5A and board + CPU + 2xHDD (SP2504C might have some power on delay) + dvd-rw + cd + floppy do use more than 2A). Also I did ask from MSI if MSI K8NGM2-FID has some power on delay at the +12V line, and they did state that there is no delay circuit on board.

Conclusion: There definitely is still some issue with the s/n starting 0512 (A3-rev) NeoHE 430.

_sweborn_
Posts: 3
Joined: Mon Apr 03, 2006 12:03 am

Post by _sweborn_ » Fri Apr 07, 2006 5:26 am

frankgehry wrote:Has anyone specifically asked antec for an A4 rev? And what was their reply? Has antec been paying shipping? TIA
I have asked Antec Europe for an A4 replacement, more or less to see what the response will read.

silverwolf0
Posts: 20
Joined: Sat Feb 14, 2004 5:08 pm

Post by silverwolf0 » Sat Apr 08, 2006 4:03 pm

I just got my p150 case today with the NeoHE. Can someone tell me what are the chances it will screw up with my computer? I am waiting for my MSI K8NGM2-FID to arrive Monday and am worried that it might not work with it. What are the chances? My power supply doesn't have a revision number on it. The serial is S0511xxxxx so I am guessing it is one of the older or even the original models. Anyone with this serial number and motherboard having any troubles, or lack thereof?

notareal
Posts: 67
Joined: Mon Jul 11, 2005 9:03 am
Location: Finland

Post by notareal » Sun Apr 09, 2006 5:33 am

silverwolf0 wrote:I just got my p150 case today with the NeoHE. Can someone tell me what are the chances it will screw up with my computer? I am waiting for my MSI K8NGM2-FID to arrive Monday and am worried that it might not work with it. What are the chances? My power supply doesn't have a revision number on it. The serial is S0511xxxxx so I am guessing it is one of the older or even the original models. Anyone with this serial number and motherboard having any troubles, or lack thereof?
If you are using only onboard graphics nor you don't have any power hungry pci cards, like Sound Blaster X-Fi, I would expect problems. I had S0511 that had a power on problem and now S0512 that suffer from it too. Solution is to add some dummy load or better ask Antec to fix the PSU.

silverwolf0
Posts: 20
Joined: Sat Feb 14, 2004 5:08 pm

Post by silverwolf0 » Sun Apr 09, 2006 12:30 pm

Would a 7600gt do? That's probably the only semi-hungry component in my computer to be.

GeezerMan
Posts: 12
Joined: Wed Mar 29, 2006 6:55 pm
Location: Texas

Post by GeezerMan » Sun Apr 09, 2006 12:55 pm

silverwolf0 wrote:Would a 7600gt do? That's probably the only semi-hungry component in my computer to be.
try a hairdryer or toaster oven :lol:

notareal
Posts: 67
Joined: Mon Jul 11, 2005 9:03 am
Location: Finland

Post by notareal » Mon Apr 10, 2006 5:04 am

silverwolf0 wrote:Would a 7600gt do? That's probably the only semi-hungry component in my computer to be.
I am pritty sure it will be enough.

Csoszi
Posts: 20
Joined: Tue Apr 11, 2006 2:48 am
Location: Hungary

Post by Csoszi » Tue Apr 11, 2006 3:03 am

Got my 2nd P150 on Friday, as I had the usual issues with the first one.

Revision A21, serial number starts with 0512, and it works only if the TriCool fan is connected. If the fan is disconnected, the PSU won't start.
Config: Asus K8N, A64 2800+, Zalman CNPS 7000 AlCu, 512MB Kingmax Hardcore, Radeon 9200, Leadtek Winfast 2000 DV, 4 HDDs, Toshiba SD-M1612, NEC ND-4550A
No random shutdowns yet, but I have to do some stress tests to confirm the stability of the PSU.

Post Reply