How much will a 300w power supply run?

PSUs: The source of DC power for all components in the PC & often a big noise source.

Moderators: NeilBlanchard, Ralf Hutter, sthayashi, Lawrence Lee, Devonavar

andyL
Posts: 19
Joined: Sat Nov 04, 2006 9:11 pm
Location: Alabama

Post by andyL » Fri Dec 01, 2006 4:33 pm

200W Enhance power supply, 2.8 P4 HT, 2x512 DDR 400, 7200 RPM WD HDD, ATI 9600 (AGP), Asus 16X DVDROM, PCI Wireless NIC (IDEQ 210M)

300W Antec true power, 1.4 Athlon Tbird, 7200 RPM IBM HDD, 2X 512 PC 133, 16X DVDROM, TI 4600 (NOW) (Asus A7V133)

300W Antec True Power, Athlon64 3200+, 2 x 512 DDR, Samsung SP2504C, ATI 9200, 16X ASUS DVDROM, 16X Sony DVDRW (THEN) Asus K8VSED

350W Antec Smart Power, Athlon64 3200+, 2 x 512 DDR, Samsung SP2504C, 6800GS 256MB AGP, 16X ASUS DVDROM, 16X Sony DVDRW (NOW) Asus K8VSED

300W Antec is the same power supply, moved it to my son's PC, because it was quiet. Please note, a Smart Power is nowhere near as quiet as a True Power (live and learn.)

Andy

rei
Posts: 967
Joined: Wed Dec 08, 2004 11:36 am

Post by rei » Thu Dec 07, 2006 4:03 am

heh.

check this out:

http://episteme.arstechnica.com/eve/for ... 0001491831

300w fortran psu:

"Regardless, this is a beautiful machine, and now we know that a 300W single-fan PSU can power a rig with an nVidia GeForce 8800GTS, Intel E6600 CPU, Seagate 7200.10 HDD, Plextor SATA DVD Burner, Creative X-fi sound card, 4 fans, and 2 gigs of Mushkin PC-5300. Pretty slick."

rei
Posts: 967
Joined: Wed Dec 08, 2004 11:36 am

Post by rei » Thu Dec 07, 2006 4:04 am

page 7 has a weird 'no posts exist' error btw.

qviri
Posts: 2465
Joined: Tue May 24, 2005 8:22 pm
Location: Berlin
Contact:

Post by qviri » Thu Dec 07, 2006 5:15 am

rei wrote:page 7 has a weird 'no posts exist' error btw.
Yep, been happening recently on longer threads. Seems that the forum software thinks there's one page more than there actually is. Funky.
Thinkpad X200 – aging fan, T60p – Core Duo whine :(
Nothing endures but change

derekva
Posts: 477
Joined: Tue Jun 07, 2005 11:00 am
Location: Puget Sound, WA
Contact:

See my .sig

Post by derekva » Thu Dec 07, 2006 9:53 am

Both systems are running on Seasonic S12-330 PSUs (which is 10% greater output than what you are asking, but it's close).

I'm sure when I upgrade my desktop from an Opteron 144 to an Opteron 175 (this month) I'll have no issues with power. Heat, on the other hand... :?

-Derek
[size=75]Desktop: Antec P150|Gigabyte GA-EP45-UD3R|Intel Xeon E3110|2x2048MB PC8500|HR-01|eVGA 8800GT SC|HR-03 GT|Scythe PWM 120mm|Scythe PWM 92mm|WD5000AAKS|Seasonic SS400-HT
HTPC: OrigenAE X11|Intel DG45ID|Intel E8400|2x2048MB PC6400|Scythe Big Shuriken|ATI HD4550|2xATI DCT|80mm Nexus|2TB WD 3.5" SATA + 100GB Seagate 2.5" SATA|NeoHE 430[/size]

Goldenhorde
Posts: 2
Joined: Mon Jul 24, 2006 12:36 pm
Location: new zealand
Contact:

new card and upgraded broardband

Post by Goldenhorde » Sun Dec 17, 2006 3:00 am

MSI KT266 Pro2-U with a XP2000 @ 1847 at 44c 160 FSB 1.65v
Albatron Geforce FX 5200 LPX 128mb
overclocked so much that you would not want to know!
Two 52 24 52x cdwrighters and a dvd combo exturnal
256x2 ddr333 and a ddr400 at 321mhz 11.5 multiplier
ultimit hardrive cooler with one hardrive partitioned too four drives
bios update
Nine fans
air conditioning New Zealand New
very hard to get saitek p880 died though ;,-9
15inch 120hurtz monitor through 200W Tv cabnet mounted AT POWER SUPPLY UNIT
Cap Card for decoading sky ;)
300 W PSU
as fast as my line goes broardband flatrate
UNemployed

rumigine for an upgrade ;)
Visit the site make me money so my machine can not only seed but become a garden ;)

Goldenhorde 3#rd on google

bleh
Posts: 1
Joined: Sun Dec 24, 2006 5:49 am

Post by bleh » Sun Dec 24, 2006 5:58 am

I've been using a Task 300 watter (20amp on 12v rail) with the below rig for about 3 months now:

CPU: e6400
MB: Gigabyte DS3
GPU: BFG7900GT
RAM: Team PC2-6400

And both CPU/GPU are overclocked. No problems yet.

NeilBlanchard
Moderator
Posts: 7680
Joined: Mon Dec 09, 2002 7:11 pm
Location: Maynard, MA, Eaarth
Contact:

Post by NeilBlanchard » Sun Dec 24, 2006 9:21 am

Welcome to SPCR!
Sincerely, Neil
http://neilblanchard.blogspot.com/

Piri
Posts: 9
Joined: Sun Dec 24, 2006 1:08 am

Icute 350W...

Post by Piri » Wed Dec 27, 2006 12:52 am

No problems with:

ICUTE 350w bundled PSU

Image


Athlon XP 2500+ OC'd to 3200+ (2.2GHz)
Akasa BlueLED Cooler @ 3750RPM
MSI MS-6570E K7N2-Delta2 FSR (nForce 2 Ultra 400)
MSI NorthBridge Fan @ 4000RPM
PNY Geforce 6600 128MB 64-Bit
2x Maxtor DiamondMax9 6Y080L0 7200RPM IDE UltraDMA
1x TSST DVD-RW Ts-H552U 16x
1x JLMS XJ-HD165H DVD-ROM 16x
1x Panasonic Floppy Disk
1x generic sleeve bearing fan (mainboard header)
1x Icute Blue LED Fan sleeve bearing (piggyback connector)
Leadtek WinF@st TV2000/XP
Conexant 56K Voice/FAX Modem
1x Intel Pro/100+ NIC
1x DLED/USB Header [MSI]
2x Samsung DDR400 DualChannel RAM @ 200MHz
[Temporarily: 1x Maxtor 4D040H2 40GB 5400RPM)
GPU OC'd from 300MHz/500MHz to 430MHz/630MHz
CPU OC'd from FSB166/Clock 1833MHz to FSB200/2200MHz Multiplier 11


PS> Is the current PSU sufficient if i use it for a Core 2 duo rig with almost every other component above + a 775Dual-Vsta Mobo and replace the 2 HDDs with a WD1600JS?

jaganath
Posts: 5085
Joined: Tue Sep 20, 2005 6:55 am
Location: UK

Post by jaganath » Wed Dec 27, 2006 3:15 am

Is the current PSU sufficient if i use it for a Core 2 duo rig with almost every other component above + a 775Dual-Vsta Mobo and replace the 2 HDDs with a WD1600JS?
yes.
MSI NorthBridge Fan @ 4000RPM
dang, I'll bet that's one noisy little fan!

DazedandConfused
Posts: 1
Joined: Tue Jan 02, 2007 3:29 pm

Post by DazedandConfused » Tue Jan 02, 2007 3:33 pm

HP a1640n
E6300
ASUS P5BW-LA
250 GB HD 7200 RPM
2 Gigs of Ram
Dvd-RW Burner
300 Watt Bestec PowerSupply 19A on 12V line

and soon a 7600GT. Anyone thinks I may have any problems running the video card?

padmewan
Posts: 106
Joined: Fri Mar 12, 2004 7:56 am
Location: Cambridge, MA
Contact:

Post by padmewan » Wed Feb 21, 2007 8:07 am

My 2y/o Seasonic 300W Super Silencer is powering:

ASUS A8V Deluxe Socket 939 VIA K8T800 Pro
Athlon64 3000
2x 512MB DDR400
2x SATA HDD's (7200RPM)
1x DVD drive
Gigabyte GeForce 7600GS (AGP, passive heatsink)
SoundBlaster Audigy 2ZS Platinum (with the "drive")
Compro VideoMate Gold
iMon Inside
3x USB devices

Running smooth so far!

EsaT
Posts: 473
Joined: Sun Aug 13, 2006 1:53 am
Location: 61.6° N, 29.5° E - Finland

Post by EsaT » Sat Feb 24, 2007 11:24 am

Not exactly 300W PSUs but these are some combinations I picked in Finnish MuroBBS which show how overshooting PSU recommendations are:

Pentium-D @ 4.05, X1800XT Crossfire, 4 HDs: Neo HE 430W

FX-60, overclocked X1900XTX Crossfire: Neo HE 380W

E6600 @ 3995 (&1.55V), X1950XTX: Chieftec 350W (12V 17A)
"The power of accurate observation is commonly called cynicism by those who have not got it."
-George Bernard Shaw

ronrem
Posts: 1066
Joined: Sun Jan 16, 2005 2:59 am
Location: Santa Cruz

Post by ronrem » Thu Mar 01, 2007 3:15 am

shunx wrote:
Jan Kivar wrote:HDs consume the most power when they spin up. That's why SCSI allows staggered spinup (HBA starts the drives).
Some questions:
1) about how much current is on the 12V when a HD (say, a 7200.7) spin up?
2) which controllers if any allow for staggered spinup for ATA and SATA drives?
Samsung says their T series SATA drives do staggered spinup,but I did not look for how it's set up.

kermuffle
Posts: 6
Joined: Sun Mar 04, 2007 2:29 pm

Post by kermuffle » Sun Mar 04, 2007 2:59 pm

i used to have a stock aopen 300w psu that came with a q50c that was used with:

p4 northwood 3000 stock cooler
gigabyte atx i965 motherboard
2 sticks pc6400 512mb dual
2 80 cm generic cooling fans
1 ati 9600
1 120gb seagate hd
1 floppy drive
1 dvdrw and dvd rom
2 avg pci cards

the funny thing was that whenever someone turned off the exhaust fan for the shower in the bathroom, the system would freeze, then reset. was pretty annoying. after changing the psu to a stock 400w in another case, no further problems... not enough wattage or dodgy 300w psu?

NeilBlanchard
Moderator
Posts: 7680
Joined: Mon Dec 09, 2002 7:11 pm
Location: Maynard, MA, Eaarth
Contact:

Post by NeilBlanchard » Mon Mar 05, 2007 5:42 am

Hello,

AOpen PSU are made by Fortron Source, and I had a similar issue with a Fortron PSU a while back. At work, if someone used the microwave oven (which is a high current device) my computer would crash. I changed it out for a SeaSonic 300watt, and the problem went away.
Sincerely, Neil
http://neilblanchard.blogspot.com/

Techno Pride
Posts: 347
Joined: Tue Jun 03, 2003 12:57 am

Re: Icute 350W...

Post by Techno Pride » Thu Apr 05, 2007 5:49 pm

Piri wrote:No problems with:

ICUTE 350w bundled PSU

[img]http://img152.imageshack.us/img152/92/dscf3624tw2.jpg


PS> Is the current PSU sufficient if i use it for a Core 2 duo rig with almost every other component above + a 775Dual-Vsta Mobo and replace the 2 HDDs with a WD1600JS?
be careful! iCute PSUs are made by CWT and those seem to be the lowest grade of them all. There're always stories of exploding iCute PSUs.
Antec Solo II
i7-2600S, GA-Z68XP-UD3, 16GB DDR3-1600, GTX 1060 6GB

Techno Pride
Posts: 347
Joined: Tue Jun 03, 2003 12:57 am

Post by Techno Pride » Thu Apr 05, 2007 6:13 pm

Fortron Bluestorm FSP350-THN-P fanswapped

AMD Athlon64 X2 3600+ (Windsor, 10x210MHz, 1.075v)
Abit NF-M2 nView (integrated GF6150)
2 x 1GB Kingston ValueRAM DDR2-667 (350MHz, 1.9v)
LG GSA-H42N DVDRAM, BenQ DW1655 DVDRW
Seagate BIV 80gb, Samsung P80 160GB (2x Abit Serillel 2 convertors)
SB Audigy

Misc
2xD12SL-12 (5v, 6v) + ATN-TP-02E fan controller
MS Wireless Desktop 3000 + Logitech Rumblepad 2
DLink BT-122 dongle
Parallel -> USB convertor

full details of rig in my sig. Gonna add a TV card and new VGA in the near future. Probably a 7900GS or a 8800GTS (!!)
Antec Solo II
i7-2600S, GA-Z68XP-UD3, 16GB DDR3-1600, GTX 1060 6GB

Techno Pride
Posts: 347
Joined: Tue Jun 03, 2003 12:57 am

Post by Techno Pride » Sat Apr 07, 2007 8:10 am

Ralf Hutter wrote:
GamingGod wrote:Everytime I read this thread the overclockers on other forums piss me off more and more. Its gotten even worse now, everyone is recommeneding at least a 450w power supply for an average (fairly high end) gaming system. I always say, just get a decent 300w and youll be fine and I get my head chewed off.
I tried convincing hardware experts that a C2D or X2 (65w EE) system requires less power than a comparable Prescott/Presler system, yet I keep getting big PSU recommendations shoved down my throat. The best part is almost everyone knows recent processors are less power hungry, yet PSU wattage recommendations are getting bigger and bigger. It's senseless.
Antec Solo II
i7-2600S, GA-Z68XP-UD3, 16GB DDR3-1600, GTX 1060 6GB

MikeC
Site Admin
Posts: 12283
Joined: Sun Aug 11, 2002 3:26 pm
Location: Vancouver, BC, Canada
Contact:

Post by MikeC » Sat Apr 07, 2007 9:16 am

Here's one from the updated REAL SYSTEM POWER REQUIREMENTS table of the Power Supply Fundamentals article:

Driven with a Seasonic SS-350ET ATX PSU --

Intel Pentium D950, overclocked / overvolted 10% (Presler, 3.74GHz)
ATI Radeon X1950XTX-512 PCIe graphics
Asus P5LD2-VM motherboard
4 x 1024MB Corsair DDR2-6400 RAM
Hitachi Deskstar 7K80 80GB hard drive
WD Raptor WD1500ADFD 150GB 10krpm HDD
1 x 120mm fan

Total AC power draw is an absolute max of 298W; estimated DC power draw is 256W. It could actually be driven by an honestly rated 300W PSU.
Mike Chin, SPCR Editor/Publisher
Support SPCR by buying your gear through this link: Amazon

sjoukew
Posts: 401
Joined: Mon Nov 27, 2006 6:51 am
Location: The Netherlands (NL)
Contact:

Post by sjoukew » Sat Apr 07, 2007 9:48 am

Default AOpen PSU 300 watt Model no : fsp300-60bt(pf) (came with AOpen high tower)

Athlon xp2800+ (trbred b)
768mb ram (3x 256mb ddr)
asus a7v8x-x
geforce fx5600
creative live 1024
pinnacle pctvpro
3com 100mbit nic.
promise ultra 133tx2
WD 120gb hdd
Seagate 40gb.
Seagate 4gb (backup)
pioneer dvdrom
pioneer dvd-rw
liteon cdrw

3 case-fan's
2 harddisk coolers with 2 4cm fan's (those horrible noise makers)

It did run for years without a flaw :)

Mari0-Br0s
Posts: 152
Joined: Sat Jul 23, 2005 4:15 pm
Location: Montréal, Québec
Contact:

Post by Mari0-Br0s » Mon Apr 23, 2007 8:21 pm

My Fortron ZEN 300W is powering:

AMD Athlon64 X2 3800+ EE OCied @ 2.3GHz
ASUS M2NPV-VM
1x DVD burner EIDE
2x SATAII HDDs
3x 120mm fans @ 5V
2x DDR2 stick
1x PCI device

jefklak
Posts: 15
Joined: Wed May 30, 2007 12:24 am

Post by jefklak » Wed May 30, 2007 12:35 am

thanks for the thread, I needed this info :)

Spybreak9
Posts: 1
Joined: Thu May 31, 2007 8:30 pm

Post by Spybreak9 » Thu May 31, 2007 9:08 pm

OK so I've been using my Optiplex GX 240 Dell machine for mainly being a college PC. I've graduated so now I use it for web surfing, games used to video edit and 3D Render. Will most likely play more games lol and 3D Render being a Game Art & Design student online with the Art Institute.

Just the other day my video card's fan stopped turning (been loud a while now so I knew the day would come) so I sent it into support even though I forgot to register the product. I said what the heck well I got back a X1600 AGP 512MB video card and I sent in a Radeon 9800 Pro 256MB! Ok, me likey.

I was excited so I removed the drivers of the old card, unplugged spare 9500 card and plugged her in and started up the computer. Got a beep, the video card fan was turning along with case fan and nothing happened and I just watched the monitor's LED light blink on and off. I also have three green leds in the back and one yellow, which is the A LED, the first one but I don't have my manuel so I don't know exactly what it means. Many people say the X1600 is a power hog and I believe the dell computer is a standard 300W but I don't really know for sure.

My system:
p4 2.0Ghz
1GIG SDRAM
ATI X1600 512
ATI Wonder TV Tuner
Audigy 2 ZS Gamer
USB 2.0 Card
1 x 92mm case fan
2 x 80 GIG ATA HDDs
Zip Drive
Floppy Drive
DVD/CD Burner/Writer Combo Drive
LED Temp/Fan Control Panel (mainly used to see if fan is running and temp)
2 USB ports in front

If I need to upgrade to a new PSU I found one at pcpower (since Dell forums said they have a compatibility list), the Silencer 410 Dell-2 Upgrade PS works with the GX240.

I like the quiet part as the original PSU I have now is very quiet, I'd like to keep it that way. However 107 bucks is a lot for a 410W Power Supply and I read on here that I could fry my board if I went with a different PSU which isn't compatible with my system so I might be forced to go with that one. So thats me...

Chocolinx
Posts: 311
Joined: Thu Jan 19, 2006 5:14 am
Location: Toronto
Contact:

Post by Chocolinx » Thu May 31, 2007 9:56 pm

My newest Rig:

Seasonic SS-300SFD

viewtopic.php?t=40495
[size=75]Centurion 5 | Patriot Low Latency DDR2-800 4GB 4-4-4-10 | P5B Deluxe | S12-500 | Q9450 2.66Ghz @ 1.0125v | Nexus 120 @ 700 RPM | Custom Ducts | CPU Idle: 36C Load: 53C (Orthos)[/size]
[size=75]Antec 300 Case | Buffalo Value DDR2-533 1GB | MA785GM-US2D | SPI 400W | Sempron 140 (Unlocked) | Yate Loon 120 @ 5V | CPU Idle: 32C Load: 55C (Orthos)[/size]

Joe Public
Posts: 92
Joined: Tue May 29, 2007 9:25 am
Location: Norway

Post by Joe Public » Mon Jun 04, 2007 2:53 am

Got an old system running in an AOpen case w/a 300W PSU, delivers 13A on 12V. The PSU is marked "Component Pro" in big letters, haven't heard the name before tho.

Specs:

MSI i865PE motherboard
P4 - 2.4B GHz (Northwood, 533 MHz FSB)
2x512+2x256MB RAM (@ PC2700 speed)
1x80GB Samsung HDD
ATI Radeon 9600 256MB
NEC 16x dual layer DVD burner.

Runs stable, I reckon it can take the GeForce 6600GT I have in my spare component box.


And yes, there are places I go, where people are buying 700-900W PSUs to power middle class gaming systems. Trying to tell them that that's way over what they'd ever need, I'm just ignored and they go ahead with the purchase anyways. :roll:

charonme
Posts: 131
Joined: Tue Apr 11, 2006 4:17 am
Location: Slovakia

another 300W psu powered pc

Post by charonme » Sun Jun 10, 2007 10:12 am

PSU: 300W DTK PTP-3007
CPU: Athlon XP-M (mobile barton) 2600+, 200x11.5=2300mhz @ 1.625v
MB: MSI K7N2 delta-L (MS-6570)
RAM: 512MB 400mhz
GFX: MSI GF5200 AGP 128mb
HDD1: Maxtor 6Y160P0
HDD2: Maxtor 4K080H4
CD-RW: Teac W540E
PCI1: Soundblaster Live! Platinum (with front bay)
PCI2: M-Audio Audiophile 24/96
FAN1: Thermaltake Silent Boost cpu cooler fan 8cm (1.56W)
FAN2: Thermaltake 9cm case fan TT9025A (2.64W)
FAN3: HDD cooling fan Evercool SHDC-A (2.04W)
FAN3: a small ~1W fan

Sylvan
Posts: 5
Joined: Wed Apr 20, 2005 9:49 am

Can I upgrade my video?

Post by Sylvan » Fri Jun 15, 2007 1:15 pm

Here's what I have powered by SeaSonic SUPER SILENCER-300W ATX12V Power Supply:

AMD Athlon 64 X2 4200+ 2.2GHz
ASRock 939Dual-SATA2 Motherboard
2x Crucial 512MB RAM
ATI Radeon 9600 All-in-Wonder Video Card (fanless)
Sound Blaster X-Fi Sound Card
Pioneer 16X DVD±R DVD Burner DVR-111D
SAMSUNG SP2504C 250GB 7200 RPM
SAMSUNG SP1614C 160GB 7200 RPM

Never had any trouble. Here's a question, tho:
Under the specification for the Radeon X1950 Pro video card I am interested in it says:

http://ati.amd.com/products/radeonx1950 ... specs.html
Connection to the system power supply is required:
* 450-Watt power supply or greater, 30 Amps on 12 volt rail recommended (assumes fully loaded system)
Seasonic rates the SS-300W to 18A on 12V1, and the 350W to 19A. Judging by the system Mike posted with the X1950 XTX being run by the Seasonic SS-350W, can I discount this 'requirement'?

It looks like the fanless X1950 PRO (PowerColor SCS3) is pretty hard to find for sale, but I would like more video power without adding a fan.

NeilBlanchard
Moderator
Posts: 7680
Joined: Mon Dec 09, 2002 7:11 pm
Location: Maynard, MA, Eaarth
Contact:

Post by NeilBlanchard » Fri Jun 15, 2007 6:37 pm

Greetings,

Fortron Source 300watt "Green" PSU had no troubles with:

Intel Core2Duo 6420 2.13gHz @ 20% OC = 2.56gHz
2X 1GB Corsair DDR SDRAM 533
Asus P5N-E SLi
Gigabyte 8600GTS
320GB Western Digital SATA HD
120GB Samsung IDE HD
20GB Western Digtal IDE HD
Sony DVD-RW
Antec 3-speed case fan (in Solo)
GlobalWin NCB (on Thermalright SI-128)
no-name PCI serial port card
Sincerely, Neil
http://neilblanchard.blogspot.com/

merlin
Friend of SPCR
Posts: 717
Joined: Mon Jun 13, 2005 6:48 am
Location: San Francisco, CA

Post by merlin » Fri Jul 13, 2007 3:50 pm

I just finished my new system (outside of needing to do some major cabling work to clean things up and some thermal work) and it's way below the 300watt threshold.

Running the following (which shows at about 180w idle/225w load at UPS load detector..which I estimate to mean about 150/190w actual power taking into account 80% efficiency)

Core 2 duo E6600 at 3.0ghz and 1.2v core
Gigabyte P35 Mobo
EVGA 7900GTO at 1.3v core
2X120mm Yate Loon
2X92mm Nexus/Scythe
Sound Blaster X-fi + Front Audio Bay
802.11g Wifi Card
Nec 18x Dvd Burner
3 Sata HD
4X1GB Crucial Ballistix DDR2-800 at 1.8v

It's hard to imagine many non-sli scenarios that could surpass the 300w barrier at all considering this setup is far below.
Quiet Wuv Wizzie
Main: I5-3570K at 3.7ghz, 16GB DDR-1600@1.35v, Asrock Z77 Extreme6, Corsair 330R, Seasonic 760XP2, Sapphire Radeon 7950| Secondary/Lan: Core i3-2100, 4GB, Msi H67MA-E35, Radeon 6790, Sugo SG02| HTPC: Core i3-2100, 4GB, AsRock H67M-ITX/HT, Antec ISK300-65| NAS: Core I3-2100, 8GB, Antec TP-550, Lian Li PC-Q08B, 4X2TB WD Green| Lappy: Latitude D620 Core 2 T7600, Quadro NVS 110M

Post Reply