Nero Drivespeed

Silencing hard drives, optical drives and other storage devices

Moderators: NeilBlanchard, Ralf Hutter, sthayashi, Lawrence Lee

NoiseFreeGuy

Nero Drivespeed

Post by NoiseFreeGuy » Thu Feb 15, 2007 2:15 pm

I'm pretty new to Nero's Drivespeed and wonder how it works in general.

Can I lock in a read speed for an optical drive so that it will always read at that speed until I change it?

Right now when I turn on my external DVD drive it seems to have a mind of its own and starts to read data disks at maximum speed.
It's not until I fire up Drivespeed and set a slower speed that it seems to slow down.

I hope I don't have to manually set the speed each time. It doesn't seem to make sense if I would have to.

TIA Ric

Towermax

Re: Nero Drivespeed

Post by Towermax » Thu Feb 15, 2007 4:29 pm

NoiseFreeGuy wrote:I'm pretty new to Nero's Drivespeed and wonder how it works in general.

Can I lock in a read speed for an optical drive so that it will always read at that speed until I change it? . . . I hope I don't have to manually set the speed each time. It doesn't seem to make sense if I would have to.
Under "Options", there are checkboxes for "Run at startup" and for "Restore speed settings at startup."

NoiseFreeGuy

Post by NoiseFreeGuy » Thu Feb 15, 2007 7:22 pm

Towermax wrote:
NoiseFreeGuy wrote:Under "Options", there are checkboxes for "Run at startup" and for "Restore speed settings at startup."
So let's see if I understand this properly.
I need to go into Drivespeed under Options and set it to Run at the startup of WinXP? Then it will restore the speed settings that I had previously set if I check off this box?

I see a problem with this.
I just went to fire up Drivespeed now and it said "No CD-ROM drives found".

Most of the time (99% of the time) I will keep my DVD drive turned off.
Why would I power it up if I'm not using it?

So the "Run at Startup" won't be useful because my drive will be turned off and I'll just get that error message.