Antec P193: Actual CPU cooler clearance?

Cooling Processors quietly

Moderators: NeilBlanchard, Ralf Hutter, sthayashi, Lawrence Lee

vifrosty

Antec P193: Actual CPU cooler clearance?

Post by vifrosty » Mon Oct 18, 2010 6:28 pm

I'm new to CPU cooling in general so I apologize ahead of time for being such a newbie.

I've built a Win 7 system with an Antec P193 case, an i7-950, and an Asus P6x58D-E systemboard. Right now the CPU has the stock hsf unit that came with it but I'm fairly sure I need to upgrade based on my CPU temps.

My problem is in selecting a cooler that fits when considering the P193's 200mm side fan assembly. I've read the thread here at SPCR titled "P193 Case Fan Choice which at first I thought answered my question but after re-reading it I kidn of had to wonder if the information was conclusive. Luca's information was great, it's just that after posting the pictures of those 3 cooler units in the P193 which included the Yasya (159mm), that should have ended the questions from the thread originator since obviously if you can fit 159mm, you can fit 158, 155, 152, 144 etc easily enough.

So bottom line: will a 159mm or less air-cooling unit fit in the P193 without modding the case?

I have my eye on either the Megahalems unit (158.7mm) or the Noctua NH-U12P SE2 (158mm).

If the Yasya is 159mm and actually does fit, is there any reason that the Megahalems (158.7) wouldn't fit - or is there something I'm not considering?

I haven't contacted Antec, but from what I gather they never give a consistent answer on this particular question, and vastly underestimate the numbers. Why can't Antec just buy a few coolers and verify? Anyway.

Thanks to anyone that can confirm this stuff.

PS: Any comments on the effectiveness of the Noctua NH-C12P SE14, the one that's only 114mm with the top mounted fan? I prefer the dual fan pointing to the case exhaust but just curious about this top-mounted model.

vifrosty

Re: Antec P193: Actual CPU cooler clearance?