Barton 2500 @ 1.1v?

Cooling Processors quietly

Moderators: NeilBlanchard, Ralf Hutter, sthayashi, Lawrence Lee

Post Reply
PhilgB
Posts: 389
Joined: Sun Jul 13, 2003 4:25 am
Location: Welland, Ontario, Canada

Barton 2500 @ 1.1v?

Post by PhilgB » Sat Jan 17, 2004 6:51 am

I think I remember someone saying that the bartons are all (multiplier) unlocked. Can anyone confirm this? If so, I would like to get one and try and get it running at 1.1v. How much would I have to underclock it to get it running at that voltage? Has anyone tried this?
There must be some way out of here

GenghiS_KhaN
Posts: 210
Joined: Sat Jul 19, 2003 1:40 pm
Location: Kortrijk, Belgium

Post by GenghiS_KhaN » Sat Jan 17, 2004 6:58 am

why would you be wanting it to run at 1.1V and not something else?
I run it at 1.425V and I currently have 24 case, 28 cpu, in idle...
When stressed the cpu is 37 (Prime95) and 28-30 casetemps.
I know I'm using a coolermaster casefan to cool the cpu running at 12V but I'm sure I can use the fan at 7V....
[color=grey][size=75]Abit nf7-s w/ Zalman NB32J ; Barton 2500+@1.425V ;Slk900u w/ papst92mm@7v ; 2*256MB pc3200 Twinmoss ; Sapphire Radeon 9700pro w/ Zalman 80d-hp; Nexus NX3000 ; Antec SLK3700AMB; suspended Samsung SP1614C 160GB ; Samsung SW-252B ; Plextor PX116A[/size][/color]

TheScarf
Posts: 113
Joined: Fri Nov 21, 2003 6:26 pm
Location: Sunny Melbourne, Aust.

Post by TheScarf » Sat Jan 17, 2004 7:00 am

Bartons are deinitely NOT all overclocked :x I think it was before week 30 in production that they were unlocked, not quite sure, but I have one of each. I looked around for a second older one but no luck....
The Milk Crate Lives!!

PhilgB
Posts: 389
Joined: Sun Jul 13, 2003 4:25 am
Location: Welland, Ontario, Canada

Post by PhilgB » Sat Jan 17, 2004 7:19 am

TheScarf wrote:deinitely NOT all overclocked :x
Well i think you meant unlocked.. but thanks. Ill find out which ones are unlocked and keep an eye out for one.

@Genghis
Im just aiming for a dead silent pc. I tried it with a 5V L1A on CPU and for exhaust and temps went up to 60degC in no time (MCX462+). At 12V I can hear more than just airflow. Hopefully get the same performance as my 2200 right now, just running a whole lot cooler.

Im going to foam the inside and build a custom PC stand/muffler setup (prototype looks sweet!) Should get some really good results.
There must be some way out of here

TheScarf
Posts: 113
Joined: Fri Nov 21, 2003 6:26 pm
Location: Sunny Melbourne, Aust.

Post by TheScarf » Sat Jan 17, 2004 7:31 am

Oops, you're right, meant not all bartons are unlocked, but all bartons should be overclocked anyway!! My unlocked overclocked one folds 95% of the time and maxes out in the high 40's with an undervolted Zalman 7000 AlCu doing a quiet job of it. :)
The Milk Crate Lives!!

PhilgB
Posts: 389
Joined: Sun Jul 13, 2003 4:25 am
Location: Welland, Ontario, Canada

Post by PhilgB » Sat Jan 17, 2004 8:11 am

Well its just an experiment. I wish I could boot to different bios profiles :D I dont need much performance when Im browsing the net or coding. I guess well see when I try it.
There must be some way out of here

PhilgB
Posts: 389
Joined: Sun Jul 13, 2003 4:25 am
Location: Welland, Ontario, Canada

Post by PhilgB » Sat Jan 17, 2004 1:48 pm

The barton doesnt cost that much and I have another use for the 2200 that doesnt require silence. The board I have right now doesnt undervolt or anything so when I get my NF7-S Ill play around with it.
There must be some way out of here

silvervarg
Posts: 1283
Joined: Wed Sep 03, 2003 1:35 am
Location: Sweden, Linkoping

Post by silvervarg » Sun Jan 18, 2004 5:58 am

Bartons was unlocked up to 2003 week 39. After that I think they are all locked. It is however possible to unlock them by modifying the bridges. There are good detailed manuals for this with great pictures.

I have been running my Barton 2500+ at 1.1 volt when undervolted.
I have not really pushed hard to find the limit of how high speed you can go with 1.1V, but at least 1.0GHz seems fine.
I have done some tests with 1.1V at 1260MHz (7*180) and that seems to be ok.

1.1V seems to be close to the limit on what the CPU likes, so it can be pushed quite a bit further on 1.125V.
I will go compleatly fanless, so this is the main reason that I want to push the Vcore really low.
You can run stock speed 1826MHz at around 1.425V.
Dropping slightly in speed you will be able to drop voltage to ~1.3V very quickly.

PhilgB
Posts: 389
Joined: Sun Jul 13, 2003 4:25 am
Location: Welland, Ontario, Canada

Post by PhilgB » Wed Jan 21, 2004 7:35 am

Silvervarg,
Is your fanless setup going to be heatpipe>massive heatsink? Or something else? I have been wanting to try this on my server, so please post your results if you do try this. Thanks.
There must be some way out of here

oogabooga
Posts: 43
Joined: Wed Jun 18, 2003 7:31 pm
Location: Mississauga, ON

Post by oogabooga » Wed Jan 21, 2004 12:44 pm

silvervarg wrote: Dropping slightly in speed you will be able to drop voltage to ~1.3V very quickly.
Heck, I'm able to get my Barton 2500 to 1.3V *at* stock speed - temps are 40/47, case is ~25, using a modded Silent Boost with an L1A at ~6V (fanmate)! Mind you, I do have two L1A case fans at 6V that are blowing cool air onto the HS.

Also, (and I haven't tried this), but does anyone know how good the temps get if you simply lower the FSB but keep the multiplier at 11x (for those of us with locked Bartons?) It could be an effective trick to get to the fanless range - 11X100 = 1.1Ghz, not bad... (or 11X66 = 726MHz, not great, but plenty for internet, office, winamp, etc).

Sameer
Sameer

Opty 165 @ 2.25GHz, 1.2V, AC Freezer 64
Asus A8R32-Deluxe, 2x512 OCZ PC3500
1x74GB Raptor, 2x320, 2x500 Caviar
Sapphire GTO2 with Zalman HS/F
Enermax Liberty 500W, P180

PhilgB
Posts: 389
Joined: Sun Jul 13, 2003 4:25 am
Location: Welland, Ontario, Canada

Post by PhilgB » Wed Jan 21, 2004 2:02 pm

I noticed a whopping 0degC change in temp when switching from 133 to 100 FSB (266>200) on my AthlonXP 2200.
There must be some way out of here

marc999
*Lifetime Patron*
Posts: 230
Joined: Sat Oct 26, 2002 4:05 pm
Location: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

Post by marc999 » Wed Jan 21, 2004 3:33 pm

What motherboards are you guys using to undervold your Bartons?
I looked into undervolting mine, but my ASUS A7N8X-X (NForce 2 chipset) won't let me. :cry:
I wonder if I write ASUS if they'll add it in their next BIOS release?!

oogabooga
Posts: 43
Joined: Wed Jun 18, 2003 7:31 pm
Location: Mississauga, ON

Post by oogabooga » Wed Jan 21, 2004 4:16 pm

marc999 wrote:What motherboards are you guys using to undervold your Bartons?
I looked into undervolting mine, but my ASUS A7N8X-X (NForce 2 chipset) won't let me. :cry:
I wonder if I write ASUS if they'll add it in their next BIOS release?!
I use the SOLTEK FRN2 board - it's the best budget board I have ever owned. Sells for about $100. Can be gotten from NCIX. Undervolts to 1.1, huge clock range, auto-CPU shutoff above a certain temp, ability to read CPU diode, nForce 2 U400, blah blah blah. Easily worked when I OC'd the barton 2500 to 3200. About the only thing it can't do that I want is onboard fan control through software (i.e using Speedfan).
Sameer

Opty 165 @ 2.25GHz, 1.2V, AC Freezer 64
Asus A8R32-Deluxe, 2x512 OCZ PC3500
1x74GB Raptor, 2x320, 2x500 Caviar
Sapphire GTO2 with Zalman HS/F
Enermax Liberty 500W, P180

PhilgB
Posts: 389
Joined: Sun Jul 13, 2003 4:25 am
Location: Welland, Ontario, Canada

Post by PhilgB » Wed Jan 21, 2004 4:23 pm

Barely any Asus boards allow undervolting. My ECS K7S5A doesnt undervolt either but I plan on getting the Abit NF7-S.
There must be some way out of here

silvervarg
Posts: 1283
Joined: Wed Sep 03, 2003 1:35 am
Location: Sweden, Linkoping

Post by silvervarg » Thu Jan 22, 2004 2:53 am

Heck, I'm able to get my Barton 2500 to 1.3V *at* stock speed - temps are 40/47, case is ~25, using a modded Silent Boost with an L1A at ~6V (fanmate)! Mind you, I do have two L1A case fans at 6V that are blowing cool air onto the HS.
Do you pass at least 1 hour of prime95 torture test on 1.3V stock speed without errors?
I don't think I have tried that setting on my Barton 2500, but I don't think it will pass without errors.

Also, (and I haven't tried this), but does anyone know how good the temps get if you simply lower the FSB but keep the multiplier at 11x (for those of us with locked Bartons?) It could be an effective trick to get to the fanless range - 11X100 = 1.1Ghz, not bad... (or 11X66 = 726MHz, not great, but plenty for internet, office, winamp, etc).
You get the most benefit of lowered heat when lowering the Vcore. Assuming you run with a constant Vcore your heat will be directly proportional to the MHz you are running. So it is really multiplier*FSB that matters. That means that lowering the FSB will help quite a lot in reducing the heat.
I have noticed some instability when going real low in FSB at some settings, but this might have to do with my memory timings or similar things.
I have no problem running in the 1.0GHz range with the CPU fan turned off (stock DP-102 cooler) and running prime95 forever.

marc999
*Lifetime Patron*
Posts: 230
Joined: Sat Oct 26, 2002 4:05 pm
Location: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

Post by marc999 » Thu Jan 22, 2004 7:24 am

My ECS K7S5A doesnt undervolt either but I plan on getting the Abit NF7-S
Doh!! Maybe I should have got that MOBO? Oh well, too late now. :cry:
Also, (and I haven't tried this), but does anyone know how good the temps get if you simply lower the FSB but keep the multiplier at 11x (for those of us with locked Bartons?) It could be an effective trick to get to the fanless range - 11X100 = 1.1Ghz, not bad... (or 11X66 = 726MHz, not great, but plenty for internet, office, winamp, etc).
I tried running my 2500+ at 11 x 100FSB fanless with a Zalman 7000A (yes, my chip is locked). It got to 63 degrees after about 13 minutes of Prime95, so I stopped the test. Then again, I recently found out that the store mounted in with only Arctic Silver 3, and like I mentioned, I was not able to undervolt. I do have good case ventilation though (SLK-3700 clone with a 5V 120mm Papst at the back, and just some lame ass ATI Xpert 2000 video card).

Post Reply