Gigabyte P35-DS3P Fan control issue

Control: management of fans, temp/rpm monitoring via soft/hardware

Moderators: NeilBlanchard, Ralf Hutter, sthayashi, Lawrence Lee

Post Reply
joe123
Posts: 44
Joined: Wed Oct 11, 2006 12:05 am
Location: Australia

Gigabyte P35-DS3P Fan control issue

Post by joe123 » Mon Oct 22, 2007 9:22 pm

Hi, I just recently got four Nexus Real Silent Case Fans. My plan was to switch over my other fans, Kamakaze 2 fans, and replace them with these nexus fans. Everything has been wired up, all fans are to the mobo header. But i can't seem to control all the fans. I can control the CPU and GPU fan in speedfan, but not the intake or exhaust. I can only monitor the latter 2. I find it hard to believe that there is 4 headers and only two give you fan control. Is something I can do that can control the other fans?

The reason i switched the fans was so that I could have the fans automatically controlled by Bios/software but it dosen't seem the case ATM.

ddrueding1
Posts: 419
Joined: Sun Sep 19, 2004 1:05 pm
Location: Palo Alto, CA

Post by ddrueding1 » Mon Oct 22, 2007 10:07 pm

Could you control your other fans with SpeedFan before the swap? I know on my motherboard (see sig), I can only control one fan.
[size=75]A64 6000+, GF 7950GT, 4GB DDR2-1000, Gigabyte GA-M57SLI-S4, Auzentech X-Plosion 7.1, 3Ware 9650SE-16ML, 2x 74GB Raptors, 6x 750GB 7200.10s, Antec Nine Hundred, Samsung SATA DVD-RW, Seasonic M12 700W, Logitech G15, Razor Copperhead, Vista Ultimate[/size]

joe123
Posts: 44
Joined: Wed Oct 11, 2006 12:05 am
Location: Australia

Post by joe123 » Mon Oct 22, 2007 10:39 pm

I couldn't control the previous fans in speedfan because they had there own fan controler, i think its called a rheostat. The other fans did a great job and were quiet, but i wanted something that didn't require me to manually change the fan speed.

Lurch
Posts: 2
Joined: Tue Oct 23, 2007 1:03 am

Re: Gigabyte P35-DS3P Fan control issue

Post by Lurch » Tue Oct 23, 2007 1:11 am

joe123 wrote:... But i can't seem to control all the fans. I can control the CPU and GPU fan in speedfan, but not the intake or exhaust. I can only monitor the latter 2. I find it hard to believe that there is 4 headers and only two give you fan control. Is something I can do that can control the other fans?
Only the 4 pin headers on Gigabyte P35 motherboards can be controled by software. Other two are only for readout. This is tested on GA-P35C-DS3R v1.1 motherboard. My Speedfan config is on the Speedfan site.

joe123
Posts: 44
Joined: Wed Oct 11, 2006 12:05 am
Location: Australia

Post by joe123 » Tue Oct 23, 2007 4:08 am

Thanks for the info Lurch. I'll have to work something out with these nexus fans, at 12 Volts they are too loud for my liking.

ddrueding1
Posts: 419
Joined: Sun Sep 19, 2004 1:05 pm
Location: Palo Alto, CA

Post by ddrueding1 » Tue Oct 23, 2007 8:18 am

If you search around here there are ways to make one fan header control multiple fans.
[size=75]A64 6000+, GF 7950GT, 4GB DDR2-1000, Gigabyte GA-M57SLI-S4, Auzentech X-Plosion 7.1, 3Ware 9650SE-16ML, 2x 74GB Raptors, 6x 750GB 7200.10s, Antec Nine Hundred, Samsung SATA DVD-RW, Seasonic M12 700W, Logitech G15, Razor Copperhead, Vista Ultimate[/size]

joe123
Posts: 44
Joined: Wed Oct 11, 2006 12:05 am
Location: Australia

Post by joe123 » Tue Oct 23, 2007 9:00 pm

Ahh yes i forgot about that trick. Do you think the Mobo fan headers can handle two fans at once? I'll see if the manual has anything along those lines about max power output .

ddrueding1
Posts: 419
Joined: Sun Sep 19, 2004 1:05 pm
Location: Palo Alto, CA

Post by ddrueding1 » Tue Oct 23, 2007 9:15 pm

Nexus fans draw very little power. I'm pretty sure you could run 3 or 4 off the rated capability of the header.
[size=75]A64 6000+, GF 7950GT, 4GB DDR2-1000, Gigabyte GA-M57SLI-S4, Auzentech X-Plosion 7.1, 3Ware 9650SE-16ML, 2x 74GB Raptors, 6x 750GB 7200.10s, Antec Nine Hundred, Samsung SATA DVD-RW, Seasonic M12 700W, Logitech G15, Razor Copperhead, Vista Ultimate[/size]

lucas82
Posts: 88
Joined: Mon Jun 04, 2007 12:24 pm
Location: Santa Maria - Brasil

Post by lucas82 » Wed Oct 24, 2007 7:52 am

I got the same problem. My motherboard has only two fan headers and my case has three fans. It supports up to 24W (2A) per channel.
But I can't seem to find this trick you are talking about.

Can you help me?

Thanks

(sorry for my bad English)

joe123
Posts: 44
Joined: Wed Oct 11, 2006 12:05 am
Location: Australia

Post by joe123 » Wed Oct 24, 2007 11:37 pm

I couldn't find a tutorial for you but here is what you do.

1. Remove all of the wires from both fans at the connectors except for one yellow wire on one fan ( the yellow wire is for RPM Monitoring, so you only need one). You'll need a pin or something small and thin so that you can remove the pins out of the sockets.

Image

2. Solder wires together and then clip the wires back into a fan plug. Done.

If soldering is out of your field or you don't have time, you could buy one of these:

http://www.svc.com/3pinyadapter.html

Not a very good tutorial i know. But it should help you.

zorrt
Posts: 58
Joined: Tue Oct 16, 2007 1:13 am

Post by zorrt » Thu Oct 25, 2007 4:59 am

Speedfan detects a third controller on the DS3P board. I don't get why its not enabled. Sucks balls. Guess I'll just get another one of them fanmates for my exhaust to compliment the one I currently have controlling my intake. I used the SYS_FAN2 header to regulate the temps of my hdd.

lucas82
Posts: 88
Joined: Mon Jun 04, 2007 12:24 pm
Location: Santa Maria - Brasil

Post by lucas82 » Thu Oct 25, 2007 5:28 am

Thank you Joe123!!

That is what I was looking for!

Lurch
Posts: 2
Joined: Tue Oct 23, 2007 1:03 am

Post by Lurch » Mon Oct 29, 2007 6:51 am

zorrt wrote:Speedfan detects a third controller on the DS3P board. I don't get why its not enabled. Sucks balls. Guess I'll just get another one of them fanmates for my exhaust to compliment the one I currently have controlling my intake. I used the SYS_FAN2 header to regulate the temps of my hdd.
Speedfan simply detects the third I/O chip output, but can't check if it's connected to actual hardware (which apparently is non existant). And yes, it does suck balls. Who, in their right mind, in this time and age, would put a fan header WITHOUT possibility of regulation (be it voltage or PWM).
I'm even considering buying another motherboard (this one also had issues with on-board LAN).

zorrt
Posts: 58
Joined: Tue Oct 16, 2007 1:13 am

Post by zorrt » Tue Oct 30, 2007 4:47 am

Lurch wrote: Speedfan simply detects the third I/O chip output, but can't check if it's connected to actual hardware (which apparently is non existant). And yes, it does suck balls. Who, in their right mind, in this time and age, would put a fan header WITHOUT possibility of regulation (be it voltage or PWM).
I'm even considering buying another motherboard (this one also had issues with on-board LAN).
Yea too bad I didn't think about all this fan controlling when I went out and bought the board so now I'm kind stuck with it. I just stared at the third controller and sigh everytime speedfan starts up :] Until I realised I could take it off the display that is.
[size=75]Antec P180 // Intel Core2 e6750 @ 3.2ghz with Thermalright XP-90 and Panaflo fan // 8800GT @ 720/1720/1800 with HR03 GT and Nexus 120mm // CPU temps 31 idle - 55 load with 2 x Prime95 // GPU temps 40 idle - 48 with Crysis Benchmark.[/size]

fmwaz
Posts: 4
Joined: Mon Feb 27, 2006 11:40 am

Post by fmwaz » Mon Nov 05, 2007 7:29 pm

Do any of the P35 motherboards have the ability to control multiple case fans?

joe123
Posts: 44
Joined: Wed Oct 11, 2006 12:05 am
Location: Australia

Post by joe123 » Mon Nov 05, 2007 9:46 pm

The Abit IP35 Pro can control all the fans via software or BIOS. Much better option than the Gigabyte MB IMO.

http://www.xbitlabs.com/articles/mainbo ... pro_7.html

Post Reply