The Antec NSK1300. Brought to you by AuraAllan.

Show off your quiet rig.

Moderators: NeilBlanchard, Ralf Hutter, sthayashi, Lawrence Lee

AuraAllan
*Lifetime Patron*
Posts: 713
Joined: Wed Mar 07, 2007 7:49 am
Location: Denmark

The Antec NSK1300. Brought to you by AuraAllan.

Post by AuraAllan » Sun Sep 07, 2008 6:52 am

Hi there. Image

This build was inspired by my search for total (computer) silence.
It was rebuild several times to accomodate different "mods".

This build kept haunting me. I never got the feeling that it was finished.
I kept thinking out ideas to make it better.
I had to "kill" it before it got too expensive.
I will probably do another build in that case some other time but for now its "dead".

The build has been totally disassembled. I will use my laptop primarily for now.
Also I want to sell off the items while they still had some value.
I'll keep the case though. :)

Components:
Motherboard: Gigabyte GA-G33M-DS2R
CPU: Intel E4500 (M0) undervolted to 1,075V. (lowest stable)
RAM: 2*1GB Cellshock
GFX: HD3870 w/AC S1
HDD: WD Velociraptor (double enclosed in SQD 2.5", in SQD 3.5")
WLAN card in PCI slot.
Cooled by a Scythe Slipstream 1200RPM @ ~570RPM
Powered by PW-200-M and a 200W Dell DA-2 power-brick.

Image

Image

Image

Image

Image

Image

Image

Temps: (Ambient ~20C)
Idle (7-8 hours on time):
NB: 33
HDD: 38
CPU: 25
GPU: 38

Load:
NB: 35
HDD: 40
CPU: 35
GPU: 69-70 (Switching back and forth indicating that it wouldnt go any higher)

Power use: (Measured when I used HD501LJ, not WD VR)
Idle: 67W
CPU load (Orthos): 83W
GFX load (RTHDRIBL): 119W
CPU+GFX load: 124W
Playing Mythos I got just above 130W.

This build was very quiet back when I used the HD501LJ.
I switched to the VR for some extra speed but it had a nasty extremely high-pitched whine that penetrated through both SQD's and out the case.
Sold the VR.

But where should I put this case?
There was no place on the table and it looked stupid stading on the floor.
Also it would suck in to much dust when left on the floor (carpet).

Solution?

Image

Image

Image

Image

Image

Its made from 3mm Domex 650MC. (Used for truck chassis, cranes and such. Very overkill) :twisted:
Lasercut, bend, then powdercoated grey.

Sorry about the cable mess. :)

Thats it from me this time around.

Cheers.
I'd rather go synchronize swimming with Angela Lansbury

frostedflakes
Posts: 1608
Joined: Tue Jan 04, 2005 4:02 pm
Location: United States

Post by frostedflakes » Sun Sep 07, 2008 8:16 am

Nice mods and mounting. That SPCR badge looks very slick as well. 8)
Corsair Obsidian 650D | Seasonic X-650 | Gigabyte GA-990FXA-UD5 | Phenom II X4 955 | Noctua NH-D14 | 2x4GB Corsair DDR3-1600 | ASUS HD6950 DirectCU II 2GB | OCZ Vertex 2 120GB | 2x WD Green 1TB

Juliusz
Posts: 47
Joined: Sun Oct 23, 2005 4:58 am
Location: Poland, Warsaw

Post by Juliusz » Sun Sep 07, 2008 8:27 am

Where did You get that front for nsk1300, or is it some special spcr edition of a case?

AuraAllan
*Lifetime Patron*
Posts: 713
Joined: Wed Mar 07, 2007 7:49 am
Location: Denmark

Post by AuraAllan » Sun Sep 07, 2008 8:31 am

Juliusz wrote:Where did You get that front for nsk1300, or is it some special spcr edition of a case?
It's the original front panel.
I redid it with polyester putty.
frostedflakes wrote:Nice mods and mounting. That SPCR badge looks very slick as well. 8)
Thanks :)
I'd rather go synchronize swimming with Angela Lansbury

Juliusz
Posts: 47
Joined: Sun Oct 23, 2005 4:58 am
Location: Poland, Warsaw

Post by Juliusz » Sun Sep 07, 2008 8:43 am

First and foremost very high quality finished front panel and overall it's not very bad. :lol:
Oh and I really like that original pw200m placing and very artistic cable management!8)

What tools did You use for remaking front panel? Maybe some quick step by step instructions/how to?
I'm really interested in that front panel mod!

EDIT:
You wrote that you have PW-200-M but it looks rather like PW-200-V so isn't it PW-200-V??

What's that red thing touching your accelero?
Last edited by Juliusz on Mon Sep 08, 2008 1:55 am, edited 1 time in total.

that Linux guy
Posts: 213
Joined: Thu Mar 20, 2008 8:51 am
Location: In the server room, playing Trackmania

Post by that Linux guy » Sun Sep 07, 2008 9:32 am

AuraAllan, very nice build. It's totally hacked and modded... and very different. Great mods.

My one question is where did you get the SPCR emblem? I'm really diggin' it.
thatLinuxguy.wordpress.com

AuraAllan
*Lifetime Patron*
Posts: 713
Joined: Wed Mar 07, 2007 7:49 am
Location: Denmark

Post by AuraAllan » Sun Sep 07, 2008 10:47 am

Juliusz wrote:First and foremost very high quality finished front panel and overall it's not very bad. :lol:
Oh and I really like that original pw200m placing and very artistic cable management!8)

What tools did You use for remaking front panel? Maybe some quick step by step instructions/how to?
I'm really interested in that front panel mod!

EDIT:
You wrote that you have PW-200-M but it looks rather like PW-200-V so isn't it PW-200-V??

What's that red thing touching your accelero?
Heh, thanks.

Yes ofcourse its a PW-200-V. Typo/brainfreeze :P

The red thing touching the S1 is a terminal strip (right word?) shielding a spare wire from touching anything.

Front panel:
- Close up all hole with putty
- Sand down with 200 grit
- Sand 400 grit (wet/dry)
- Putty again to close up some small holes
- Sand 400 grit (wet/dry)
- Sand 600 grit (wet/dry) ~1 hour
- Primer (three layers)
- Sand 600 grit (wet/dry) ~30 min
- Primer (one layer)
- Matt black paint (3-4 layers)
that Linux guy wrote:AuraAllan, very nice build. It's totally hacked and modded... and very different. Great mods.

My one question is where did you get the SPCR emblem? I'm really diggin' it.
Thanks.

I got it because I made a donation to SPCR.
Don't know if the "reward" donaters with a SPCR emblem anymore.
I'd rather go synchronize swimming with Angela Lansbury

Moogles
Posts: 315
Joined: Thu Mar 22, 2007 10:28 am

Post by Moogles » Sun Sep 07, 2008 11:01 am

Nicest build I've ever seen. Seriously! It looks very clean, quiet and small.

Excellent work!

hybrid2d4x4
Posts: 310
Joined: Mon Sep 03, 2007 1:45 pm
Location: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada

Post by hybrid2d4x4 » Sun Sep 07, 2008 12:49 pm

Wow, that looks incredible compared to the stock case. Nice work! The SPCR badge looks very classy, too!
[size=75][url=http://www.silentpcreview.com/forums/viewtopic.php?p=436979]Gaming rig[/url]: Tt Tsunami,P5Q Pro,Q9450 w Ninja,8GB RAM,4870 1GB w S1,WD 640GB,SB X-Fi Plat,ZM-MFC2.Kama PWM in PSU,others S-FlexEs.
[url=http://www.silentpcreview.com/forums/viewtopic.php?t=49965]HTPC[/url]: NSK2480,GB GF9400,E5200 w/ Minja,4GB RAM,WD GP 1.5TB,Nova DVB-S. Minja PSU fan,S-FlexEs case fans.[/size]

ryboto
Friend of SPCR
Posts: 1439
Joined: Tue Dec 14, 2004 4:06 pm
Location: New Hampshire, US
Contact:

Post by ryboto » Sun Sep 07, 2008 8:02 pm

That's something I'm going to have to strive for. Almost inspires me to redo mine...maybe if I have the time...for now, I'm in dim light, so it's not an issue. I did make a few changes to mine, I'm no longer using the PW-200-M, instead a Pico, and I can actually power the system with the damn power brick I've had for almost a year.

Again, nice build, it inspired mine.
[url=http://fah-web.stanford.edu/cgi-bin/main.py?qtype=userpage&teamnum=31574&username=rybot][email protected][/url]
[url=http://www.silentpcreview.com/forums/viewtopic.php?t=36172&highlight=][size=75]Oldest Setup[/url]
[url=http://www.silentpcreview.com/forums/viewtopic.php?t=48778]Old[/url]
i5-750 | TR AXP-140 | DFI MI P55-T36 | Lan-Gear mITX | HD5850 | Silverstone ST45SF[/size]

Juliusz
Posts: 47
Joined: Sun Oct 23, 2005 4:58 am
Location: Poland, Warsaw

Post by Juliusz » Mon Sep 08, 2008 2:08 am

Did You use PW-200-V for some compatibility reasons that people have with PW-200-M using Dell DA-2? Is PW-200-V not cursed with those motherboard compatibility problems? Did You had such problems with booting etc?

ryboto
Friend of SPCR
Posts: 1439
Joined: Tue Dec 14, 2004 4:06 pm
Location: New Hampshire, US
Contact:

Post by ryboto » Mon Sep 08, 2008 4:01 am

Juliusz wrote:Did You use PW-200-V for some compatibility reasons that people have with PW-200-M using Dell DA-2? Is PW-200-V not cursed with those motherboard compatibility problems? Did You had such problems with booting etc?
I have tried both the PW-200-M and V with two motherboards, both refused to boot, both were Abit motherboards. The PW-200-M also wouldn't boot with the DA-2 and my current DFI, but the Pico has zero issues. I think it's an issue with the PW-200-M/V and specific motherboards. Both of them share the issue, but maybe Gigabyte doesn't have the same startup power needs?
[url=http://fah-web.stanford.edu/cgi-bin/main.py?qtype=userpage&teamnum=31574&username=rybot][email protected][/url]
[url=http://www.silentpcreview.com/forums/viewtopic.php?t=36172&highlight=][size=75]Oldest Setup[/url]
[url=http://www.silentpcreview.com/forums/viewtopic.php?t=48778]Old[/url]
i5-750 | TR AXP-140 | DFI MI P55-T36 | Lan-Gear mITX | HD5850 | Silverstone ST45SF[/size]

Juliusz
Posts: 47
Joined: Sun Oct 23, 2005 4:58 am
Location: Poland, Warsaw

Post by Juliusz » Mon Sep 08, 2008 4:33 am

Thanks for the response! So it looks that PW-200-M/V are only physically/form factor different builds but "mentally" are the same... :?: :roll:
Maybe this is some chipset related incompatibilities? ( ABIT-nforce,ATI? DFI-nforce,ATI? Gigabyte-Intel)
Did You hear about issues with the Intel motherboards? I would like to use PW-200-M/V + DA-2 with my current setup in sig #1

AuraAllan
*Lifetime Patron*
Posts: 713
Joined: Wed Mar 07, 2007 7:49 am
Location: Denmark

Post by AuraAllan » Mon Sep 08, 2008 5:25 am

@ Moogles, hybrid2d4x4, ryboto.

Thank you for the very kind words.
That kind of acknowledgement almost forces me to do another build. :)

I'll think of something. :wink:

About the pico, PW-200-M/V issues:
I have no idea why those PSU's refuse to boot sometimes.
I never experiensed it although I have seen computers freeze after some time when powered by a pico. (mostly old board/builds)
I'd rather go synchronize swimming with Angela Lansbury

ryboto
Friend of SPCR
Posts: 1439
Joined: Tue Dec 14, 2004 4:06 pm
Location: New Hampshire, US
Contact:

Post by ryboto » Mon Sep 08, 2008 6:13 am

Juliusz wrote: Did You hear about issues with the Intel motherboards? I would like to use PW-200-M/V + DA-2 with my current setup in sig #1
I'm not sure where the incompatibility stems from, but on ever board I had an issue powering using the DA-2 and a PW-200 series, the PicoPSU booted the system without a hitch. In fact, if you take a gander at my system through the link in my signature, you'll see what I'm doing now with it. As for Intel motherboards, I don't think enough users have attempted PW-200 and the Dell brick for us to create an in-depth database of compatibility.
[url=http://fah-web.stanford.edu/cgi-bin/main.py?qtype=userpage&teamnum=31574&username=rybot][email protected][/url]
[url=http://www.silentpcreview.com/forums/viewtopic.php?t=36172&highlight=][size=75]Oldest Setup[/url]
[url=http://www.silentpcreview.com/forums/viewtopic.php?t=48778]Old[/url]
i5-750 | TR AXP-140 | DFI MI P55-T36 | Lan-Gear mITX | HD5850 | Silverstone ST45SF[/size]

p5x
Posts: 26
Joined: Sun Oct 05, 2008 11:16 am
Location: UK

Post by p5x » Tue Oct 28, 2008 11:36 am

sorry to dig up an old thread but I was wondering if you could answer my query here as i'm planning on building a pc around the nsk 1380 but just need to know if I can use the asus 3650 silent edition in it.

thanks

AuraAllan
*Lifetime Patron*
Posts: 713
Joined: Wed Mar 07, 2007 7:49 am
Location: Denmark

Post by AuraAllan » Tue Oct 28, 2008 1:31 pm

No problem.

It should fit easily.
Take a look at this thread. It can probably help you out.
I'd rather go synchronize swimming with Angela Lansbury

p5x
Posts: 26
Joined: Sun Oct 05, 2008 11:16 am
Location: UK

Post by p5x » Tue Oct 28, 2008 2:52 pm

thanks, I wasn't sure as it seems to have a huge heatsink attached and I need to use the other pci slot for a wireless card.

AuraAllan
*Lifetime Patron*
Posts: 713
Joined: Wed Mar 07, 2007 7:49 am
Location: Denmark

Post by AuraAllan » Wed Oct 29, 2008 7:19 am

p5x wrote:thanks, I wasn't sure as it seems to have a huge heatsink attached and I need to use the other pci slot for a wireless card.
Oh ! The card will fit in the case but you wont be able to use the PCI slot if its right below the PCI-E slot.
That ASUS card is a dual-slot card. It will block the slot right below the card.
Sorry if I mislead you.
I'd rather go synchronize swimming with Angela Lansbury

p5x
Posts: 26
Joined: Sun Oct 05, 2008 11:16 am
Location: UK

Post by p5x » Wed Oct 29, 2008 10:43 am

bugger, ordered it now. The mobo has 2 pci slots so hopefully the other one should be useable :)

AuraAllan
*Lifetime Patron*
Posts: 713
Joined: Wed Mar 07, 2007 7:49 am
Location: Denmark

Post by AuraAllan » Wed Oct 29, 2008 11:09 am

p5x wrote:The mobo has 2 pci slots so hopefully the other one should be useable :)
It should (will) be useable.
Sorry for the inconvenience. :?
I'd rather go synchronize swimming with Angela Lansbury

p5x
Posts: 26
Joined: Sun Oct 05, 2008 11:16 am
Location: UK

Post by p5x » Wed Oct 29, 2008 11:53 am

not a problem, it's not your fault :D I assume you don't have to use the PCI slot cooler that some reviews seem to mention?

Thanks for the help.

AuraAllan
*Lifetime Patron*
Posts: 713
Joined: Wed Mar 07, 2007 7:49 am
Location: Denmark

Post by AuraAllan » Wed Oct 29, 2008 12:12 pm

No problem.
Glad I could help.
The PCI-slot cooler is noisy and not needed.
I'd rather go synchronize swimming with Angela Lansbury

Zenphic
Friend of SPCR
Posts: 107
Joined: Sun Jan 20, 2008 12:54 pm
Location: Quebec, Canada

Post by Zenphic » Wed Nov 12, 2008 4:12 pm

Wow, nice job man. I'm surprised a PW-200-M can handle that system!
Lightning: AMD 9550 2.2Ghz @ 1.075V | Gigabyte GA-MA78GM-S2H | Corsair/Crucial 4x2GB | Crucial M500 240GB, WD Geen 3TB, WD Blue 640GB | XFX 5770 with Arctic Cooling L2 Plus | LG GH22NS30 | Anidees AI6BS | EVGA SuperNova GS 650W | Noctua NH-U12P | 2x Noctua NF-P12 @ 500RPM

AuraAllan
*Lifetime Patron*
Posts: 713
Joined: Wed Mar 07, 2007 7:49 am
Location: Denmark

Post by AuraAllan » Thu Nov 13, 2008 7:06 am

Zenphic wrote:Wow, nice job man. I'm surprised a PW-200-M can handle that system!
Thanks :D
The PW-200-V handled the job nicely.
No problems what so ever.
The system was "only" using 130W max.
Most of it was on the 12V rail so the PSU must have been a bit under pressure considering that the PW-200-V is rated for 12A max load on the 12V rail.
I'd rather go synchronize swimming with Angela Lansbury

SteveRCE
Posts: 74
Joined: Fri Oct 03, 2008 1:56 pm
Location: Detroit, MI

Post by SteveRCE » Wed Feb 04, 2009 3:32 pm

What power connector are you using for the PW-200-V to DA-2 mating? I've been searching but haven't been able to come up with a mating connector.

Did you snip a 20-pin extension cable?

ryboto
Friend of SPCR
Posts: 1439
Joined: Tue Dec 14, 2004 4:06 pm
Location: New Hampshire, US
Contact:

Post by ryboto » Wed Feb 04, 2009 5:43 pm

SteveRCE wrote:What power connector are you using for the PW-200-V to DA-2 mating? I've been searching but haven't been able to come up with a mating connector.

Did you snip a 20-pin extension cable?
It's the best way I've found to connect them.
[url=http://fah-web.stanford.edu/cgi-bin/main.py?qtype=userpage&teamnum=31574&username=rybot][email protected][/url]
[url=http://www.silentpcreview.com/forums/viewtopic.php?t=36172&highlight=][size=75]Oldest Setup[/url]
[url=http://www.silentpcreview.com/forums/viewtopic.php?t=48778]Old[/url]
i5-750 | TR AXP-140 | DFI MI P55-T36 | Lan-Gear mITX | HD5850 | Silverstone ST45SF[/size]

AuraAllan
*Lifetime Patron*
Posts: 713
Joined: Wed Mar 07, 2007 7:49 am
Location: Denmark

Post by AuraAllan » Sun Feb 08, 2009 6:04 am

SteveRCE wrote:Did you snip a 20-pin extension cable?
Yep. That's what I did.
I'd rather go synchronize swimming with Angela Lansbury

nightmorph
Posts: 316
Joined: Thu Aug 10, 2006 11:07 am

Post by nightmorph » Mon May 11, 2009 1:35 am

What kind of paint did you use for the top panel, and what was your process?

Every time I re-read this thread, I always have to remind myself that the NSK1380 does not come like that out-of-the-box! Your paint job looks so professional that I'm fooled every time. It's always a surprise to see the case with the stock grayish top. It's not nearly as pretty as yours. :)

preti9cboi
Posts: 83
Joined: Mon May 02, 2005 9:46 am

Post by preti9cboi » Thu Aug 27, 2009 12:59 am

Your case looks awesome but how do you turn on your computer if you covered up the power button? :shock:

Post Reply