System & audio setup/parts advice needed

Got a shopping cart of parts that you want opinions on? Get advice from members on your planned or existing system (or upgrade).

Moderators: NeilBlanchard, Ralf Hutter, sthayashi, Lawrence Lee

K.Murx

System & audio setup/parts advice needed

Post by K.Murx » Tue Mar 17, 2009 6:43 pm

Hello everybody.
I am currently in CA and will be moving back to Germany in October. As my stay here was only rather temporary (1 year), I currently do not own a desktop system - instead, an EEE900A has served me quite nicely as a replacement (Linux can do some amazing things even with rather underpowered hardware).
However, back home I will need a beefier machine. There will be some video encoding (I am a competitional dancer, and videos are a very useful training tool. But I do not watch TV or "steal" movies, so this will not be very frequent.), some gaming (mainly strategy/simulations/role playing games), and even the odd number-crunching (my day job is as a numerical physicist). The number crunching is highly parallelized.
Main use will be gaming other entertainment (music library / some movies) though.
The machine will dual boot between Windows (XP until 7 comes out - I can see no sense in buying Vista now) and Linux.
The machine will be bought ca. 07/2009, assembled over here and tested (as warranty issues might be a bit complicated from overseas). Yes, I like to start planning early :)
The price bracket should be around $1000 total (Display not included). My computers have lasted me typically 5+ years (with one or two upgrades each), and I expect no less from this one.
I am also thinking about replacing/extending my Audio equipment and would like some advice on that. See at the end of this post.

Some ideas on what I had in mind for the Desktop Computer:

CPU: I am undecided between the low-TFP, yet high clock speed Intel Core2Duo and the Phenom II X4s. The Intel Quad Cores are out of the question due to their price.